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Presenter
Presentation Notes
6,326 bills filed
1,532 bills passed
21 bills amending AB Code passed
Not all of these amend the AB Code
If a bill is listed as being “in effect,” that means it went into effect between April –June 2011. Otherwise, the bill goes into effect September 1, 2011.



THE UPPER TIER



MICROBREWERIES/BREWPUBS
HB 2582 by Murphy
 Repeals 25% excise tax exemption on beer

for manufacturers or brewpubs in Texas 
producing <75,000 barrels/year

Who does this impact? 
Austin Beerworks, Circle, 
Franconia, Independence, 
Jester King, Karbach, Live 
Oak, Rahr, Real Ale, Ruba, 
St. Arnold’s, Yellow House 
Canyon, plus brewpubs

Amends AB Code

Presenter
Presentation Notes
New law ensures that in-state and out-of-state manufacturers of beer are taxed the same. Does not discriminate against out of state beer manufacturers. 
Small manufacturer names are listed because of the question we’ve received..



WINERIES
HB 2012 by Thompson
 When wholesalers (W) sell wine to wineries

for sale to the ultimate consumer, the W will 
report credit law violations to TABC.

SB 438 by Nelson (in effect)
 Amends winery festival permits. Limit is now 4 

consecutive days at a location instead of 3. 
Repeals limit of 5 days within 30-day period.

SB 799 by Nelson (in effect)
 Clarifies “First Sales.” Excise taxes are paid 

by wineries on wine sold to retailers.
Amends AB Code

Presenter
Presentation Notes
HB 2012 – A rule is being developed to address the credit law issue. Essentially, it’s TABC’s understanding that if a Texas winery buys wine from a wholesaler, it is assumed it will be sold to the ultimate consumer, and the wholesaler will report the winery if credit law is violated. However, it may be that wholesalers will put a system is put in place to note it on the invoice.



WINE KEGS
SB 351 by Williams (in effect)
 Legalizes wine kegs up to 8 gal.

SB 890 by Carona
 Allows wholesalers to clean and maintain coil 

connections for wine kegs (like beer kegs). 

Amends AB Code

This is not a 
coin-operated 

machine. He is a 
TABC certified 

bartender.

Presenter
Presentation Notes
SB 890 – TABC has already passed a rule.



THE MIDDLE TIER



WHOLESALERS

HB 11 by Cook
 Requires all wholesalers/distributors to file 

reports with Comptroller showing sales to 
retailers.

HB 2035 by Hamilton (in effect)
 Allows wholesaler/distributor to temporarily 

relocate during “period of emergency.”
 Weather, fire, earthquake, natural disaster, 

act of God, catastrophe.
Amends AB Code

Amends Tax Code



RETAILERS



LICENSING
HB 2707 by Burnam (in effect)
 On-premises permit refused if applicant or 

owner of premises previously had any type of 
permit canceled for shooting, stabbing, or 
other violent act in last three years.

 Original or renewal shall be refused.
 Doesn’t have to be at the same location as 

cancellation.
 Does not apply to restaurant with F&B without 

late hours.
 Licensing staff will be doing management 

halts manually after cancellations.
Amends AB Code

Presenter
Presentation Notes
HB2707 – This applies to an original or renewal permit/license. The license/permit being refused must be on-premises. However, the license/permit that was canceled can be any type.
This law seems to be very broad; however, it is not really. Currently, there are only about five locations that have been canceled for a shooting/stabbing/violent act. 

TABC attorneys need to note the violent act in the order in addition to place and manner so that Licensing Division finds it and can place the management halt. A management halt is just a “pause” that calls for a closer look by TABC. But a management halt does not necessarily mean the permit can’t or won’t be issued.



LICENSING
HB 1953 by Kuempel
 Post sign 60 days before permit issued, 

not 60 days before application is filed.
 At the time of application, the applicant will 

swear to the date sign was posted.
HB 1956 by Thompson
 District court judge now has 20 days to hear 

and decide on appeal (no longer 10 days)
 20 days from date appeal is filed

HB 1959 by Thompson
 Appeal certification issue to County Judge 

(wet/dry or local ordinance)
Amends AB Code



LICENSING
Who remembers SB 1850 from 2005?
HB 1469 by Hernandez-Luna
 Exempts veteran/fraternal organizations

from performance bonds.
HB 2702 by Solomons
 Increases population numbers in multiple 

statutes to maintain the status quo following 
2010 Census results.

Amends AB Code

Presenter
Presentation Notes
SB1850 in 2005 created increased fees and performance bond requirements for beer or wine/beer on-premises locations in counties with a population over 1.4 million (Harris, Dallas and Tarrant counties in 2005). The bill exempted restaurants that hold a food and beverage certificate.

HB1469 creates additional exceptions for veteran/fraternal organizations from performance bonds.

HB2702 is a bill that makes across-the-board increases in population requirements through various statutes, following the 2010 Census, in order to maintain the status quo. However, the population numbers from SB1850 were not changed. That has resulted in Bexar County now falling under the SB1850 requirements. HB2702 is included in this update, not because of what it does, but because of what it doesn’t do. 

Next counties to possibly go over the 1.4 million population limit at the next Census:
Travis 1.025 million
Collin 798,000
El Paso 758,000
Hidalgo 747,000



FUNDRAISING IN DRY AREA
HB 3329 by Keffer
 Temp private club permits 

for “non profits” in dry area.
 TABC shall pass rules 

for procedures. 

Amends AB Code

Presenter
Presentation Notes
Non-profit organizations in a dry area will be able to obtain their own Temporary Private Club Permit in order to serve alcohol at special events in a dry area. Prior to this legislative change, non-profit organizations had to find a private club to obtain a temporary permit and serve alcohol at fundraisers.



GROSS RECEIPTS TAX
HB 2033 by Hamilton (in effect)
 For the customers’ information only
 MB or Private Club can include 

separate statement of gross
receipts tax on customer’s bill or receipt.

 Reminder: The tax may not be paid by the 
customer.

Amends Tax Code



SOBS (WITH OR WITHOUT ALCOHOL)
SB 1030 by Carona (in effect)

 Requires sign be posted 
for 60 days by applicant 
for an SOB license/permit issued 
by city/county for location not 
currently licensed, rather than not 
previously licensed.

 In cities/counties that regulate 
SOBs by local ordinance.

 This is just an FYI, not TABC-
enforced.

Amends Local Government Code



ADVERTISING RAFFLES

HB 457 by Craddick (in effect)
 Charitable organizations may only promote 

or advertise raffle statewide:
 on the organization’s website
 through a publication or solicitation 

including newsletter, social media or 
e-mail

 only to previously-identified supporters 
of the organization

Amends Occupations Code



HUMAN TRAFFICKING
HB 289 by Jim Jackson

 Amends common nuisance statute to include 
employment harmful to a minor, SOBs employing a 
minor and human trafficking.

HB 2014 by Thompson
 No license/permit at a location for 12 months after 

cancellation for prostitution or trafficking.
 No license/permit for a person anywhere for 3 years 

after an application expires/withdrawn/vol cancel 
pending a protest hearing involving trafficking.

 Suspension only, no civil penalty for trafficking 
offenses. Amends AB Code

Amends Civil Practice and Remedies Code

Presenter
Presentation Notes
HB 2014 applies to applications filed after 9/1/11.
TABC Attorneys: Include prostitution or trafficking in the order for the place and manner case.



INCREASED SURCHARGES
Effective September 1, 2011 
Will apply to applications received on 

or after August 25th
Rider 12 of the TABC Section of Article 

V of HB1, 82nd Legislature
New surcharges posted on TABC 

website under Important Notices and 
under Licensing.

http://www.tabc.state.tx.us/licensing/fil
es/Fee-Chart-0911.pdf

http://www.tabc.state.tx.us/licensing/files/Fee-Chart-0911.pdf
http://www.tabc.state.tx.us/licensing/files/Fee-Chart-0911.pdf


SELLER TRAINING



SELLER TRAINING
HB 1952 by Kuempel (in effect)
 TABC can cancel, suspend or fine seller 

training schools, trainers, trainees.

Amends AB Code



LOCAL OPTION
ELECTIONS



LOCAL OPTION ELECTIONS
HB 1401 by Laubenberg
 If a petition is filed for city election, then 

land annexed, then an election is held, 
does it impact the annexed area?

 YES, as long as number of signatures on 
petition meets requirements based on 
number of qualified voters in the “new” city 
and voters in annexed area were allowed to 
vote.

Amends Election Code



LOCAL OPTION ELECTIONS
HB 2817 by Larry Taylor
 General clean up of Election Code.
 Verifies that JP precinct is political 

subdivision for purposes of Ch 501.
 Clarifies requirements for published notice 

of intent to file application for petition.
 Requires county to collect deposit from 

petitioners before issuing petition when 
county is not required to pay initial election-
related expenses.

Amends Election Code



PORTS OF ENTRY



PERSONAL IMPORTATION
HB1936 by Gutierrez/Lucio
 Importing personal collection of 

beer/spirits in addition to wine
 $3 admin fee increased from 50 cents
 Standardization

Amends AB Code

Texas Residents Non-Residents Everyone
1 quart distilled
spirits

1 gallon of wine & 
distilled spirits

1 gallon of spirits

3 gallons of wine 3 gallons of wine
24 12-ounce 
containers of beer

24 12-ounce 
containers of beer

24 12-ounce 
containers of beer

Presenter
Presentation Notes
HB1936 does three things:
1. Allows the importation of a personal collection of beer or distilled spirits when moving to Texas. Prior to this bill, people moving to Texas could import a personal wine collection, but not beer or spirits.

2. A 50 cent administrative fee on containers of alcohol imported to Texas for personal consumption has increased to $3 per container.

3. The amount of alcohol that can be imported for personal use into Texas has been standardized so that it’s the same for Texas residents and non-residents.



FYI ONLY



FYI ONLY
SB 323 by Carona

 Applies to members of LLC same protection against 
responsibility for company debts & other obligations that 
shareholders currently have as to corporate obligations.

SB 1732 by Van de Putte (in effect)
 Authorizes three state military bases to contract out post 

exchanges that can obtain wine/beer off-premises 
permit.

SB 1179 by Nelson (in effect)
 Eliminates certain reports by state agencies.

SB 1303 by West
 Non-substantive changes / correction. Sec 48.03

Amends AB Code

Amends Business Organization Code



THE DARK SIDE



911 LIFELINE LEGISLATION
SB 1331 by Watson / HB 3474 by Gallego

 Limited immunity for minors who call for help because
a person may have alcohol poisoning.

 No citation for minors for possessing or consuming.
 Enhances penalty for providing alcohol to a minor where 

there is binge drinking or coerced drinking.
Community Service and Alcohol Awareness Course

Amends AB Code



DWI STATISTICS
SB 364 by Ogden
 Requires DPS to collect info about DWI arrests 

and prosecutions in Texas and report annually 
to the Legislature.

Amends Penal Code



ABDALLAH KHADER LAW
HB 1199 by Gallego
 Creates enhanced penalty for DWI with BAC 

of .15 or over. Class A misdemeanor. 
(1 year in jail instead of 6 months)

 Creates enhanced penalty for intox assault if it 
causes traumatic brain injury 
resulting in persistent vegetative
state (2nd degree felony)
(20 years in jail instead of 10)

Amends Penal Code Abdallah Khader



HUMAN TRAFFICKING LAWS
HB 1994 - 1st offender prostitution prevention 

program.
HB 2015 - Designates prostitution by youth as 

CINS instead of delinquent conduct so more 
services are available.

HB 2329 - Protects victims.
HB 3000 - 1st degree felony for 

continuous human trafficking
SB 24 - Penalties for human 

traffickers / protections 
for victims.

Amends Penal Code



TRAFFICKING STUDIES
HB 1930 - Adds DSHS to HT Task Force 

and assigns task force with studying 
association of SOBs and human 
trafficking.

HCR 68 - Creates joint 
interim committee to 
study human trafficking.



IMPLEMENTATION
 Update Website
 Update Alcoholic Beverage Code
 Update Peace Officer’s Guide
 Update Licensing Publications
 Propose and Adopt Rule Changes
 Develop Policies and Procedures
 Train Employees



MAYBE NEXT TIME…
 January-June 2012 – Strategic Planning
 November 2012 – Pre-filing of Bills for 

83rd Legislative Session
 January 2013 – 83rd Session Begins



QUESTIONS@TABC.STATE.TX.US

LIKE US ON FACEBOOK/TEXASABC
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

@TEXASABC


