TABC Arrests Store Clerk Allegedly Connected to Fatal July 25 Crash Which Killed Two Atascocita HS Students
HUMBLE – A convenience store clerk is facing charges from the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission after he allegedly sold alcohol to a 17-year-old who was later suspected of causing a crash which killed two Atascocita High School students.
Gumaro Munoz Campos, 29, of Humble, was arrested by TABC agents Sunday on charges of selling alcohol to a minor. He was booked into the Harris County Jail and later released on a $1,000 bond.
Campos' arrest comes after a joint investigation by TABC, the Harris County Sheriff's Office and the Harris County District Attorney's Office into the deaths of two teenage girls on the night of July 25. According to police, the girls died when a car they were riding in struck a tree in the 18300 block of Timber Forest Road in Atascocita. The alleged driver of the vehicle, 17-year-old Jagger Smith, sustained minor injuries. Smith was later charged with two counts of Intoxication Manslaughter.
The TABC investigators later obtained information indicating that Smith purchased alcohol from the Humble Handi Stop, 8010 FM 1960 in Humble. Following witness interviews and discussions with the store's owner, investigators identified Campos as the employee on duty the night the alcohol sale was made. A warrant for Campos' arrest was obtained by the Harris County District Attorney's Office, and he was subsequently taken into custody.
"This arrest is the direct result of outstanding cooperation between TABC, the Harris County District Attorney's Office, and the Harris County Sheriff's Office," said Bentley Nettles, TABC Executive Director. "It also sends a message: Selling alcohol to minors will not be tolerated under any circumstances. TABC and our local law enforcement partners will continue to hold businesses and their employees accountable any time illegal alcohol sales contribute to loss of life."
"Allowing minors to purchase and consume alcohol before getting behind the wheel is an intolerable risk to public safety," said TABC Chairman Kevin Lilly. "While the majority of retailers are doing the right thing, the small number of bad actors must be put on notice: We will locate anyone who conducts these illegal sales and take action as allowed by law in order to keep the people of Texas safe."
Selling alcohol to a minor is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to a $4,000 fine and a year in jail. In addition to the criminal charges against the employee, the business will face a TABC administrative violation which could result in a fine or temporary suspension of its liquor license.
Contact: Chris Porter TABC Public Information Officer (512) 206-3462