Skip to main content

Your local TABC

Articles

TABC posts interesting and informative articles about the agency and how the alcoholic beverage industry in Texas works.

View all news
Sept 14, 2020

Annual Compliance Reporting Period Now Open

The TABC Compliance Reporting period is now open. Businesses have until Dec. 1 to submit their annual inspection through our convenient TABC: Compliance Reporting mobile app. By using the app to ensure compliance with state law, you’ll spend less time meeting regulatory requirements while improving public safety across Texas. TABC changed the reporting process in 2019 so that businesses could conduct a quick and easy inspection from their smartphones or other mobile device instead of on-site with a TABC auditor.

Read more
Sept 2, 2020

Hall of Honor Nominations Open

Throughout TABC’s history, great leaders and public servants have dedicated their careers to protecting public health and safety while supporting businesses in a vital industry. Now, you can nominate a retired TABC employee, living or deceased, for possible induction into the agency’s new Hall of Honor. The deadline for nominations is Sept. 30, 2020.

Read more
Sept 1, 2020

Quick Guide to the New TABC Site

Welcome! We hope you take some time to explore the new website, but we’ve provided a quick guide to get you started.

Read more
July 22, 2020

INDUSTRY NOTICE: Temporary Modification of Licensed Premise

By working with TABC, manufacturing and retail businesses can expand the area where they are licensed to sell alcohol or conduct other licensed activities.

Read more
July 15, 2020

INDUSTRY NOTICE: One-Year Renewals for Mixed Beverage Businesses Impacted by COVID-19

TABC is allowing holders of certain Mixed Beverage Permits to renew for 1 year rather than the standard 2-year period, which reduces the upfront renewal cost by half. All subordinate permits and certificates will be renewed under the same terms as the primary Mixed Beverage Permit. To take advantage of this temporary relief, follow the instructions below.

Read more
July 2, 2020

INDUSTRY NOTICE: Cash and Credit Law Penalty Exceptions

Cash and credit laws remain in effect. However, because retailers may experience delay in complying with payment requirements due to the current coronavirus pandemic, TABC will not take certain penalty actions against retailers.

Read more
June 27, 2020

INDUSTRY NOTICE: Including Alcohol With Pickup and Delivery Orders of Food

The COVID-19 crisis has significantly impacted the alcoholic beverage industry, requiring new methods of operation to prevent the spread of the virus. As such, Governor Abbott has waived certain laws so businesses can adapt to new operating conditions. This guidance explains the parameters for mixed beverage restaurants selling alcohol for customer pickup or delivery. Current law prohibits a Mixed Beverage Permit (MB) holder from delivering alcohol to consumers unless they also have a Food and Beverage Certificate (FB), selling alcohol to go, and selling mixed drinks for off-premise consumption. However, the Governor, pursuant to the March 13, 2020 disaster declaration, suspended these limitations so that certain MB permittees may conduct alcohol to-go and delivery transactions according to the below guidance. Eligible MB permittees are hereby authorized to allow customers to pick up food orders that include alcohol and to conduct deliveries to customers of food orders that include alcohol under the following limited conditions: Eligibility To Offer Consumer Pickup or Delivery to Consumers:  Hold a Mixed Beverage Permit (MB) (regardless of whether they also hold a Food and Beverage (FB) Certificate), and Have permanent food service capabilities at the premises. General Authority — Eligible Mixed Beverage permittees may: Allow customers to pick up alcohol with food orders, Deliver alcohol with food orders to customers, Use third parties acting as an agent of the MB to make deliveries, Use independent contractors holding a Consumer Delivery Permit (CD) to make deliveries on their behalf. Pickup and Delivery Transactions: The person conducting transaction must be at least 21 years old. Restrictions on What May Be Picked Up or Delivered: Eligible MB permittees may allow pickup or delivery of any number of beers, ales, wines, and/or distilled spirits ONLY WHEN: Alcohol is accompanied by a food order that was prepared on the business’s premises; Note: There is no required food-to-alcohol ratio. Beer, ale, and wine are in their original container that is sealed by the manufacturer of the beverage;  Distilled spirits that are mixed into a drink are in a container that the MB permittee has sealed with an adhesive label (tape) that states the name of the MB permittee and “alcoholic beverage” and that the restaurant places in a bag that it seals with a zip tie, which is then NOT transported in the passenger area of a motor vehicle as defined by Texas Penal Code Sec. 49.031. Beverages that are premixed by the MB permittee may exceed 375 milliliters. However, the MB permittee must ensure that the quantity of alcohol in those beverages follows responsible service practices.  Distilled spirits may still be sold to go or for delivery in their manufacturer sealed containers. However, such containers may not be larger than 375 milliliters.  Note: Non-passenger areas of a motor vehicle include a glove compartment or similar storage container that is locked; the trunk of a vehicle; or the area behind the last upright seat of the vehicle, if the vehicle does not have a trunk. Limits on Where Alcohol May Be Delivered: Deliveries may only be made to a location: Where the sale of that type of alcohol is legal; and Within the county where the business is located, or up to two miles beyond the city limits in which the business is located if that city crosses a county line. Note: MB Permittees may NOT deliver alcohol to another licensed or permitted location. Requirements for Completing the Customer Pickup or Delivery to the Customer: Recipients must not be intoxicated, and Recipients must present valid proof of their identity that confirms they are at least 21 years old.

Read more
May 26, 2020

INDUSTRY NOTICE: License and Permit Renewal Deadlines

If a license or permit holder fails to renew their license/permit by the date on which it expires, the Alcoholic Beverage Code allows license and permit holders to file their renewal applications up to the 30th day after the expiration date and imposes a late application fee. This 30-day extension is known as the renewal grace period. After that time period, a business may not renew their license/permit and instead must file an original application. Due to the coronavirus pandemic, many businesses have been put in circumstances that have caused them to miss these renewal deadlines. Given current dynamics, the effort and cost of filing an original license/permit application to get back into business would produce significant hardship. To address this situation, pursuant to the authority provided by Governor Abbott’s March 13, 2020, disaster declaration, Alcoholic Beverage Code §6.04(a) and TABC Administrative Rule 33.6 have been suspended to the extent that they require payment of a late fee and prohibit renewal applications filed more than 30 days from a license/permit’s expiration date.

Read more
April 30, 2020

INDUSTRY NOTICE: Removal & Replacement of Malt Beverage Products in Unbroken Original Packages from Retailers Affected by Coronavirus/COVID-19 Situation

Due to social distancing measures necessitated by the coronavirus pandemic, some retailers have had to reduce their operations, leaving many with an excess inventory of malt beverage products that are perishable. As a result, retailers will be unable to sell those malt beverage products to consumers once this current public health crisis has ended. To address this situation, pursuant to the authority provided by Governor Abbott’s March 13, 2020, disaster declaration, TABC is making certain temporary exceptions to state consignment laws and TABC Rules in order to protect public safety, ensure fair competition among the alcoholic beverage industry, and allow industry to navigate the changing circumstances.

Read more
April 9, 2020

TABC Takes Steps To Maximize Teleworking Opportunities

AUSTIN – The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission will temporarily close its offices to the public beginning on Friday, March 20 and maintain essential services remotely. This will allow employees to maximize telework opportunities, while continuing to serve Texans. The move comes amid the international coronavirus pandemic, which has led millions of Texans to practice social distancing and businesses to close their dining rooms and public-facing areas. These measures align with steps being taken across Texas and around the world in the interest of public health. All TABC Licensing and Marketing Practices functions will be conducted either by mail or online, according to Executive Director Bentley Nettles. "The health and safety of our employees and the people we work with every day is priority No. 1," Nettles said. "Even though this crisis has disrupted businesses statewide, TABC is committed to ensuring our state's economy can quickly recover once the emergency is over. For that reason, I've directed TABC staff to ensure the full range of customer service capabilities despite the office closures." While the offices are closed, TABC's Licensing staff will continue to offer services to Texans by telephone, email, mail and the TABC website. All applications for original, supplemental, renewal or temporary licenses and permits will be accepted by mail, email or online. Applications can be mailed to: TABC Licensing Division P.O. Box 13127 Austin, TX 78711-3127 Applicants in need of assistance can also call 512-206-3360 or email licensing@tabc.texas.gov. TABC's Licensing services can also be accessed through TABC:Online. These changes will remain in effect for the foreseeable future. The leadership at TABC will monitor the situation and consult with state health officials to determine when operations will return to normal.

Read more
  • 1
  • 2