TABC Announces Campaign to Deter Parents from Hosting Underage Drinking Parties for Youth
AUSTIN – The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission has set an April debut for its latest campaign to educate the public on the risks, penalties and liabilities associated with furnishing alcohol to minors at underage drinking parties.
Texas has zero tolerance for underage drinking and enforces strict laws which prohibit providing, serving, and furnishing alcohol to minors. The agency's Education and Prevention Division has created the Alcohol-Free Underage Drinking Program to encourage parents to talk to their children about alcohol and discourage minors from consuming alcohol under the age of 21. Furnishing alcohol to a person younger than 21 – even if the provider of the alcohol is a minor themselves – is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $4,000, confinement in jail for up to a year and a driver license suspension for 180 days upon conviction.
Parents, other adults, older siblings and friends who make alcohol available to youth at social hosting events such as parties not only face penalties and fines, but could also be held legally responsible for damages caused by someone 18 or younger who consumed alcohol at their residence – even with a parent's permission.
"We want parents across the state to know that if they choose to host a party where alcohol is served to minors, they could be held responsible for any resulting injuries or damages," TABC Executive Director A. Bentley Nettles said. "This campaign will provide valuable information designed to answer questions and provide alcohol-free alternatives for parents whose teenaged children are preparing to become adults."
The program will include educational materials and a video, "It's Just Easier," to inform the public about the risks and consequences of providing alcohol to minors. To request your free copy of the Alcohol-Free Underage Drinking program and video, contact the TABC Education and Prevention Division at: firstname.lastname@example.org or by phone at (512) 206-3420.
This program was made possible by grant funding from the Texas Department of Transportation's Under 21 Community Education Project.
Contact: Chris Porter TABC Public Information Officer (512) 206-3462