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The following information highlights important record keeping requirements for Private Club 
Registration permittees. This packet is a guideline and not meant to be all inclusive of every 
regulation pertinent to the Private Club Registration permit which is contained in the Texas Alcoholic 
Beverage Code or the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission Rules.  
 
 
I. PRIVATE CLUB ENTITY 
 

A private club must be set up as either an UNINCORPORATED ASSOCIATION OF 
PERSONS or as a NON PROFIT CORPORATION.  Regardless of which entity is used, the 
entity SHALL be treated as a separate entity from any individual or from any other business 
entity.  For example, when submitting a federal income tax return, a separate income tax 
return must be filed for the club entity.  DO NOT include the club’s revenue on schedule C of a 
personal 1040 income tax return.  DO NOT include the revenue on another business return 
such as a restaurant, motel, or management company.  The I.R.S. prefers the use of an 1120 
income tax return in most cases.   
 
The term “non profit” does not mean the club entity cannot make a profit.  The private club 
entity may make a profit and as required by the Alcoholic Beverage Code, must operate in the 
black in order to qualify to retain its private club registration permit.  This usually is the funds 
left after paying management fees, lease/sublease rentals, alcohol purchases, gross receipts 
& sales tax, employee salaries, and other expenses of the private club.  Members of a non- 
profit association or non-profit corporation do not receive profits in the form of dividends and 
have liability for debt the club may incur.   
 
Note: Some country club type clubs could be setup as a For-Profit entity selling a stock 
membership to each member. In these cases, the members are stockholders and actually 
have a vested interest in the club facilities. 

 
II. MEMBERSHIP 
 
 A. Membership Options [Code Section 32.02.] 
 

1. Each Private Club Registration permittee shall pay a fee for each separate place of 
business. The original application and each subsequent renewal will be for two years. 

 
2. The annual state fee, unless exempt, shall be computed at the option of the permittee 

by using one of the following methods: 
 

a) A permit fee, paid for two years, is based on the highest number of members 
in good standing during the year for which the permit fee is paid according to 
the following rates: 

 
0 to 250 members-  $1,500  
251  to 450 members-  $2,700 
451  to 650 members-  $3,900 
651  to 850 members -  $5,100 
851 to 1,000 members-  $6,000 
Over 1,000 members- $6 per member 

 
b)       A fee for two years for an original Private Club Registration permit of $7,000, a 

two year fee for the first renewal of a Private Club Registration permit of 
$5,500, and a two year fee for the second and each subsequent renewals of a 
Private Club Registration permit of $4,000, unless exempt. 
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c) A permit holder who has elected to restrict the holder's authorized activities   
under the permit as provided by Section 32.01(b) of this code, (“restricted to 
the storage and service of wine, beer, and malt liquor for members of the 
club”) shall pay an original permit fee for two years of $3,000 and a two year 
permit renewal fee of $3,000. 

 
                        3.        A permittee who elects to compute the permit fee based on Section A(2)(a) above, 
                                   may not alter the method by which the fee is calculated until the second renewal or a  
                                   renewal subsequent to the second renewal {Section 32.02 (c ) 
 

B. Members 
 

 1.        No private club shall be qualified to hold a Private Club Registration permit unless it 
has:  Fifty (50) or more members from the same county as the club is located or 
maintains one hundred (100) members total at all times;   [Sec. 32.03 (e)] 

 
2. The two options that a private club has when issuing membership applications is non-

preliminary and preliminary.  If the applicant is non-preliminary, he or she must be 
acted upon and approved by the membership committee before the applicant can 
receive service of an alcoholic beverage.  "The (membership) committee or board may 
authorize the (membership committee) chairman or a designated agent to issue 
preliminary memberships without the approval of the committee or board for a 
period not exceeding seven (7) days on the request of an applicant for membership.  
A preliminary member has all of the privileges of membership in the club." [Sec. 
32.03(d)]   "The club shall remit the fees and record and report preliminary 
memberships as the Commission or the administrator prescribes." [Sec. 32.03(d)]  
Exhibits 6 and 7.  "If the committee or board does not approve the application before 
the expiration of the preliminary membership, the club shall pay to the state a fee of 
$3.00" [Sec. 32.03(d)].  This may be accomplished by documenting the issuance and 
deletion of a temporary membership card for the applicant.  

 
3.         All members, except for charter members, must be approved by at least three  
            members of the membership committee at a meeting of such committee.  [Rule 41.52 

(c)(1)(C)]  No application for preliminary membership may be approved until the 
application has been filed with the chairman of the membership committee or board 
and approved by the chairman. [Sec.32.03(d)]  No membership shall be terminated 
except by action of the membership committee or by written resignation of the 
member.  Resignation of any member shall be recorded immediately in the minute 
book of the membership committee and in the well- bound membership book.   [Rule 
41.52(c)(2)] 

 
4.      Bylaws should designate the length of membership.  If the bylaws do not designate a 

length of membership, a membership meeting should be held in accordance with the 
bylaws in order to establish a length of membership.  If memberships are deleted prior 
to expiration, the club should provide written requests from these members or 
reasonable documentation supporting the reason for deletion.  

 
C. Membership Committee 

 
1. A private club shall have a membership committee: 

 
a. Composed of three or more members of the club [Rule 41.52(c)(1)(B)] 

 
 
b. Vested with authority by charter, by-law, or regulation to approve or reject 

membership applications and terminate existing memberships. 
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[Rule 41.52(c)(1)(B)] 
 

2. No employee of the club shall be eligible to serve on the membership committee or board. 
[Sec 32.03(c)] 

 
III. MEMBERSHIP RECORDS 
 

A. Application Requirements 
 

1. All applicants should complete an application (Exhibit 2) which shall include the following 
information: 

a. Applicant’s complete name, 
b. Applicant’s complete address inclusive of zip code, 
c. Date of application, 
d. Signature of applicant. 

   
2.   If the application for membership is a preliminary application, the membership committee 

must meet within seven (7) days and consider the application for membership. [Sec.  
32.03(d)] If the application for membership is a non-preliminary, the membership 
committee has no time limitation in which to consider the application for membership, as 
the prospective member is denied service of alcoholic beverages until such time as the 
applicant is actually approved by the committee. (Exhibit 1) 

 
3. All applications for membership should be retained in chronological order by date, 

regardless of whether the applicants were approved or rejected. 
 
4. If an approved machine membership computer bookkeeping system is utilized to 

process/verify preliminary applications, the permittee must obtain written consent from the 
prospective member when accessing electronically readable license/identification 
information and proof of such consent must be maintained in chronological order with the 
permittee’s membership records (Rule Section 41.52 (g). This release may be printed on 
the preliminary membership application and signed by the applicant as part of the 
application process. 
 

B. Club Membership Committee Minutes [Rule 41.52 ( c ) (1) (B)] (Exhibit 3) 
 

1. When considering a membership application or termination of membership, the 
membership committee shall keep written minutes showing: 

 
a. Meeting date 

 
b. Names of all committee members present [signatures of at least three (3)] 

 
 
c. Name of any person admitted to membership 

 
d. Name of any person whose membership was terminated 

 
2. No minutes shall be required of any discussion or action regarding a membership 

application that is denied.   [Rule 41.52(c)(1)(B)]  However, if a preliminary membership 
applicant is denied, the club is responsible for the payment of a $3.00 membership fee 
since the applicant was granted full club privileges pending review by the membership 
committee. This may be accomplished by documenting the issuance and deletion of a 
temporary membership card for the applicant 
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C. Membership Book [Rule 41.52 (c)(1)(D)] (Exhibit 4) 
 

1. The club shall keep a well-bound book in which is shown the following about each 
member (including charter members): 

 
a. Full name of the member 

 
b. Initial membership number of member that shall be issued in sequence 

 
c. Current complete address of such member 

 
d. Date such member was admitted to membership 

 
e. Date such member was removed from membership 

 
 

2. A club using a business machine (computer) to maintain its membership records shall 
not be required to keep a well-bound book if such machine provides such information 
as shall be required by the administrator, and is approved in writing by the 
administrator or the administrator’s designated representative. (Exhibit 5) 

 
IV. TEMPORARY MEMBERS 
 

A. Definition [Sec. 32.09] 
 

The manager or other person in charge of the club premises may allow a person to enter the 
club if he possesses a valid temporary membership card which has no erasures or changes 
and which has the temporary dates in a prominent position on the card.  A temporary member: 

 
1. May enjoy the club's services and privileges for a period of not more than three (3) 

days per invitation 
 

2. May bring not more than three (3) guests to the club and must remain in their 
presence while they are at the club 

 
3. At the time of his/her admission, the temporary member shall pay the club a fee of $3, 

which shall represent the fee payable by the permittee to the state.  All fees and 
payments from temporary members shall be collected in cash or through credit cards 
approved by the Commission or administrator. Collection of this fee may be 
accomplished by issuing a temporary membership card to the temporary member. 

 
4. The Commission shall issue temporary membership cards to any holder of a Private 

Club Registration permit only in quantities of at least 50 cards at one time.  If larger 
quantities are requested, the same shall be issued only in multiples of 50. [Rule 
41.49(c)(3)]  Temporary membership cards shall be issued upon written request of a 
club on forms provided by the Commission (a completed Private Club Registration 
Permittee Order & Invoice for Temporary Membership Cards, Form C-8) together with 
the proper remittance.  [Rule 41.49(c)(2)]  Exhibit 4. 

 
 
 
 
B. Temporary Membership Records [Rule 41.49(a)(3)] (Exhibit 6 & 7)    

 
1. A holder of a Private Club Registration permit shall prepare a record with entries made 

in chronological order showing the following information about temporary membership 
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cards issued: 
 

a. Date issued 
 

b. Name of the person to whom the card was issued 
 

c. Serial number of the temporary membership card 
 
  2. NOTE:  The club may note if the temporary card was issued (deleted) to pay the fee   

for a preliminary member denied membership or the club’s failure to approve a 
preliminary membership within the seven day application period.   

 
V. GUEST 
 

A. Definition 
 

1. "The word 'guest' shall mean an individual who is personally known by the member 
or one  of the member's family and who is admitted to the club premises by 
personal introduction of, or in the physical company of, the member or one of the 
member's family."  [Rule 41.52(d)(3)] 

    
2. "Guests shall be limited to those who accompany a member or temporary member 

onto the premises or for whom a member, other than a temporary member, has made 
prior arrangements with the management of the club." 
[Sec. 32.10(a)] 
 

B. Service Charge Billed to Member [Sec. 32.10(b)] 
 

No guest shall be permitted to pay, by cash or otherwise, for any service of 
alcoholic beverages. Any charge for a service rendered to a guest by the club must 
be billed by the club to the member or temporary member sponsoring the guest.  A 
club shall bill a member other than a temporary member for the service of guests in 
the club's regular billing cycle. 
 

C. Hotel Guest  [Sec. 32.10(c)] 
 

The manager of a hotel who is a member of a Private Club located within the hotel building 
may:  
 
1. Issue a guest card to a patron of the hotel who is staying in the hotel overnight or 

longer 
 

a. the holder of the guest card may be served alcoholic beverages in the club or 
the holder's hotel room 

 
b. the guest may not be allowed to pay, by cash or otherwise, at the time of 

service in the private club 
 
2. The charge for service shall be billed to the hotel manager's account in the hotel and 

shall be collected by the hotel manager along with other hotel charges including the 
charge for using the hotel room, when the patron leaves the hotel. 

 
3. The hotel records shall be available for inspection at the request of the Commission 

 
VI.  Purchase and Replacement of Alcoholic Beverages [Sec. 32.06] 
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The alcoholic beverages stored and used in a private club must be owned by the members.  
This was accomplished in the past by members pooling their money and the club using the pooled 
money to purchase the alcoholic beverages to be served in the club.  Money pooled came from 
members being assessed (usually monthly) a service fee. This type of system is referred to as the 
“Pool Assessment System”. A few exclusive clubs still use this type of pool system today. In 1977, 
the Texas Legislature passed legislation that allowed clubs to designate a percentage of gross 
receipts from the service of alcoholic beverages to be deposit into a special account to be used 
exclusively for purchasing alcoholic beverages.  The replacement account belongs to the club’s 
membership; consequently, the alcoholic beverages purchased with that money belongs to the club’s 
members. This type of pool system is known as the “Pool Replacement System”.  
 

A. Original stocking of the bar for a new permit:  
  
1. Purchase with money assessed equally from the original (charter) members. [Sec. 

32.06(a)]. Each member should acknowledge with a signed document the amount of the 
individual assessment.  

 
2. The original purchase may be funded from a loan to the club by a third person  

Guaranteed by all the members (pro rata share).  A person who provides a loan to the 
club under this subsection may be related or unrelated to the club.  A loan for the original 
purchase may be repaid from the alcoholic beverages replacement account. [Sec. 
32.06(a)] 

 
B. Equal Assessment Pool System 

 
1. If operating under the pool system, whereby each member is assessed equally in 

advance, keep a well-bound book in which is recorded the following about each 
member of the pool: 

 
a. Name and membership number 

 
b. Date and amount of each liquor pool assessment 

 
c. Date of payment of the assessment 

 
The information required above may be kept in the well-bound membership book 
required by Number III (B)(1) above.   [Rule 41.52(c)(1)(H)] (Exhibit 8) 

 
3. "Each holder of a Private Club Registration permit operating under the pool system shall 

require each member of the pool to participate equally in the purchase of all alcoholic 
beverages and the replacement of all alcoholic beverages shall be purchased with money 
assessed and collected in advance from each member equally.  No money from any other 
source may be used to purchase or replace alcoholic beverages purchased for use under 
the pool system. [Rule 41.51(a)] 

 
 C.       Alcoholic Beverages Replacement Account [Sec. 32.06] 
 

If operating under the pool system, whereby an alcoholic beverage replacement account is 
established, "The club shall maintain a monthly record of the total amount of alcoholic 
beverage service charges collected, the amount deposited in the replacement account, the 
amount used to purchase alcoholic beverages or repay a loan for the original purchase of 
alcoholic beverages, and the amount transferred to the club's general operating account."  
[Sec. 32.06(b)(5)](Exhibit 9) 
 
“A private club may combine the club’s alcoholic beverage replacement account, general 
operating account, and any other account into a single master account if the master 
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account is maintained in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles and 
the club is able to generate statements reflecting the funds allocated to each component 
account.  If the club contracts with a third party to provide management or other services for 
the club, the club may permit the club’s master account to be combined with the master 
accounts of other clubs to which the third party provides similar services if the combined 
account is maintained in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles and the 
third party is able to generate, for the commissioner’s review on request, statements reflecting 
the funds allocated to each component account (each club) of the combined account and the 
club’s master account.  [Sec. 32.06(c)] 
 
1. Source of the Funds: 

 
 "No money other than the designated percentage portion of service charges 

may be deposited in the replacement account."  [Sec. 32.06(b)(2)] 
 
 

The amount to be deposited in the alcoholic beverages replacement account 
should be: 

 
(1) Computed daily 

 
(2) Recorded on the daily summary (May designate designated 

percentage on cash register tapes or service checks) 
 

 
3)       Deposited in a separate bank account or ledger noted with a running 
           balance 

 
2. Use of Funds: 

 
a. "The replacement of alcoholic beverages may be paid for only from money in 

the replacement account;" [Sec. 32.06(b)(3)]  (bank account or ledger 
accounting system) 

 
b. "The club's governing body may transfer from the replacement account to 
 the club's general operating account any portion of the replacement account 

that the governing body determines is in excess of the amount that will be 
needed to purchase replacement alcoholic beverages or repay a loan for the 
original purchase of alcoholic beverages, but it may make only one transfer in 
a calendar month;" [Sec. 32.06(b)(4)]  Note: funds may not be moved from the 
general operating account to the replacement account to supplement the fund. 

 
VII. CONSENT TO INSPECTION 
 

A. Premises [Sec. 32.12] 
 

"The acceptance of a Private Club Registration permit constitutes an express agreement and 
consent on the part of the Private Club that any authorized representative of the 
Commission or any peace officer has the right and privilege to freely enter the club 
premises at any time to conduct an investigation or to inspect the premises for the purpose of 
performing a duty imposed by this Code." 

 
B. Books and Records 

 
1. "All books and records pertaining to the operation of any permittee club, including a 

current listing correct to the last day of the preceding month of all members of the club 
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who have liquor stored on the club premises under either the locker or pool system, shall 
be made available to the Commission or its authorized representative on request." [Sec. 
32.13] 

 
2. “Keep all books, records and minutes required herein on the premises of such club, and 

make them available to any representative of the Commission upon reasonable notice.”  
[Rule 41.52(c)(1)(E)] 

 
 
VIII. SUSPENSION AND CANCELLATION [Rule 41.52(f)(2)] 
 

 “After notice and hearing, the administrator may suspend for a period not exceeding 60 days, or 
cancel  a Private Club Registration permit if he finds that the club or any of its members, agents, 
 servants or employees have made a false statement or a misrepresentation in any book, record, 
minutes, report, or other written matter required to be kept or reported by this section or by any 
provision of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code.” 

 
 
IX.   FOOD SERVICE 
 
 “The club must provide regular food service adequate for its members and their guests.”  [Sec 
 32.03(g)] 
 
 “The term ‘food service adequate for its members and their guests’ shall mean that complete meals 
 shall be available on the club premises for service to members, their families, and guests.”  [Rule 
 41.52(e)] 
 

Adequate food service shall mean: 
 
1. Meals are complete, i.e., the meal must include an entrée and side dishes. 
2. Meals are prepared on the premises or catered and served on the premise. 
3. If catered, contract should be in place and member billing must be through the club. 
4. Meals are regular, i.e., when the club is open, although they could be restricted to regular 

mealtimes (lunch and dinner). 
5. Meals are not prepackaged, such as frozen dinners. 

 
 
X. GROSS RECEIPTS TAX 
 

As of January 1, 1994, the Comptroller of Public Accounts collects the Gross Receipts Tax 
and sales tax on the service of alcoholic beverages. For information concerning record 
keeping requirements and taxability issues of the Gross Receipts, contact the office of the 
Comptroller of Public Accounts. 
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RECOMMENDED PRELIMINARY APPLICATION PROCESS  
AND RECORDS 

Exhibit 1 
 
 

A. APPLICATION  

 1.     Applicant should complete an application (Exhibit 2), which is identified as a preliminary 
application. 

 2. Membership Committee must meet within seven (7) days and consider the application for 
membership.  [Sec. 32.03(d)] 

 3. All applications for membership should be retained in chronological order regardless of 
whether the applicants were approved or rejected 

   

B. APPROVED FOR MEMBERSHIP 
 1. For an applicant to be considered as approved for membership within seven (7) days, the 

membership committee meeting minutes must show: 

  a. Meeting date 
  b. Names of all committee members present (minimum of three) 
  c. Name of the applicant approved for membership. 
   
 2. The following information about the new member should be entered in the well-bound 

membership book. 

  a. Full name of the member 
  b. Initial membership number, which shall be issued in sequence 
  c. Current complete address of such member 
  d. Date such member was admitted to membership 
   

C. NOT APPROVED FOR MEMBERSHIP 

 1. "If the committee or board does not approve the application before the expiration of the 
   preliminary membership (7 days), the club shall pay to the state the fee of $3.00.." [Sec.  

32.03(d)].   
 

2. This may be accomplished by documenting the issuance and deletion of a temporary 
   membership card for the applicant. 
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                                              PRELIMINARY MEMBER                                 EXHIBIT 2 
APPLICATION FOR MEMBERSHIP 

Name:  Card Number:   

Date of Birth:  Date:   

Address:   

City:  State:  Zip Code:   

Phone:  Spouse’s Name:   

Occupation:   

Billing Address:   

   

 
    

Applicant Signature:   

 
    

Recommended by:   

 
    

Approved By:   

 
    

 
    

MEMBERSHIP AGREEMENT 
 
Any member bringing a guest will be responsible for his guest at all times. A guest of a temporary member or 
preliminary member must leave if the temporary or preliminary member leaves the premises.     

 
    

  
  

Applicant Signature 
PRELIMINARY MEMBERSHIP:  Applicant wishes to consume 

    alcoholic beverages upon completing an application. 
 
NOTE:  This is not a form provided by the TABC (Sample) 
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Membership Committee Minutes 
 
Trade Name __________________________________________________________________________ 

 
The membership committee met on this date_______________________.  The names of the membership 
committee present are: 
_________________________,_______________________________, and _______________________. 
 
A motion was made and seconded that the following members be approved as members: 
Membership Number  Membership Name 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
 
A motion was made and seconded that the following members be deleted from membership. 
Membership Number  Membership Name 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 
_________________  ______________________________________________ 

 
1. Total Members Last Meeting  _______________ Membership Committee Signatures 
2. New Members    _______________  

3. Total (1+2)   _______________ X______________________________ 

4. Members Deleted  _______________ X______________________________ 

5. Total Members (3-4)                   _______________          X______________________________ 

This is not a form provided by the T.A.B.C. 
                                                                                                                                                       EXHIBIT 3 
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MEMBERSHIP RECORDS 

 
Must Be Recorded In A Well-Bound Book or TABC approved Computer (C-41) 

 
 

MEMBERSHIP 
NUMBER 

 
 

NAME 

ADDRESS 
STREET, CITY, STATE, 

ZIP DATE ADDED DATE REMOVED 

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     
     

This is not a form provided by the T.A.B.C.   EXHIBIT 4 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                  TEXAS ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE COMMISSION 
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REQUEST FOR APPROVAL OF MACHINE BOOKKEEPING SYSTEM 

TradeName:       CLP Number:        

Street Address:  City:  Zip:   

Mail Address:       City:       Zip:   
      
Approval is requested for the use of a machine bookkeeping system.  A detailed explanation of the 
system is attached.  The person listed below as Applicant may be contacted to review the proposed 
system or answer any questions concerning the system. 

Name:       Phone No.:        

Street Address:       City:       Zip:        

Mail Address:       City:       Zip:   

      
List below all permits or licenses currently approved to utilize this system or who have filed a request 
for approval to utilize this system: 

TradeName  City  Permit No.: 

                 

            

            

            

Attach a supplemental list if additional space is needed 
  

  
  Applicant Signature and Title 

      
This authorization is granted under the conditions of Section 5.51 of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage 
Code.  If this statute or the listed conditions, instructions, or other requirements of this Commission 
are not complied with, this authorization may be revoked. 
      

Approved:          
 Regional Audit Supervisor  Date 

      
SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR STATUTE, CONDITIONS AND INSTRUCTIONS 

       

            EXHIBIT 5(1) 
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INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS 

FORM C-41 
 

The holder of any T.A.B.C. permit or license, which is required to maintain bookkeeping records for 
the Commission, may request to maintain those records on a (computer) business machine. 
 
STATUTE REFERENCES 
 
The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code states: 
 
 "Sec. 5.51.  BOOKKEEPING RECORDS.  A permittee who holds a permit issued under 
 Chapters 28  through 33 of this code may elect to keep all records required under this code on 
 a machine bookkeeping system.  A permittee who desires to use such a system must submit 
 a written application for commission approval of the system before implementing the system..." 
 
Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission Rule 41.52(c)(1)(D) states: 
 
 "...a club using a business machine to maintain its membership records shall not be required  
 to keep a well bound book if such machine provides such information as shall be required by 
 the administrator, and is approved in writing by the administrator;" 
 
 
CONDITIONS 
 
 Request for approval of a machine bookkeeping system must be made by the permittee, 
 licensee, or an officer on a completed Form C-310 and forwarded for evaluation to the local 
 district compliance office of the permittee or licensee making the request.  A separate Form C-
 310 must be filed for each permit or license requesting approval of a system.  The Form C-310 
 must be accompanied by a detailed explanation of the system for which approval is requested. 
 Any systems approved will have to include, but not be limited to, the following characteristics: 

 
1. The system must provide an auditable transaction trail. 

2. The system must provide all records and information required by the Texas Alcoholic  
Beverage Commission Code and Rules. 

  
INSTRUCTIONS:  
  

1.         Submit the original and two copies of this form for evaluation to the appropriate 
Regional Of Office of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission. If approved, the 
original form will be returned to the permit mailing address.  The form should be kept 
on the licensed premise for future inspection and audit purposes.  Attach sample 
documents (Exhibits).      

   
2.    If  a third party computer company is involved, an approved copy will be submitted 

   to the vendor. 
3.    A final copy will be maintained by the Regional Office for inspection and audit 

   Purposes. . 
EXHIBIT 5(2)        
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      TEXAS ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE COMMISSION 
           PRIVATE CLUB REGISTRATION PERMITTEES 
ORDER & INVOICE FOR TEMPORARY MEMBERSHIP CARDS 
 

TABC USE ONLY 

Date:  Invoice No.:  Register No.:   
    

From:  Thru  Quantity:   
    
Amount Received: $   
    
INSTRUCTION:  Prepare an original and one copy of this form.  The copy of the form should be retained in your 
files and the original shall be forwarded to: 
 

TEXAS ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE COMMISSION 
P O BOX 13127 

AUSTIN TX  78711-3137 
 

A completed copy of this form will be returned to you along with the Temporary Membership Cards.  When issuing these 
cards, all information must be typed or printed in ink with the exception of the signature of the person issuing the card.  
Each card must show:  (1) To Whom Issued;  (2) Name and Location of the Club;  (3) Period of Membership; and  (4) 
Signature and Title of Person Issuing Card.  A record of the Temporary Membership Cards issued must be made in a 
permanent record when each card is issued.  This record must be maintained on the licensed premises for examination 
by any representative of the Commission.  The permanent record must show:  (1) The Date Issued;  (2) The Name of 
the Person to Whom the Card Was Issued; and  (3) The Serial Number of the Temporary Membership Card Issued.  
Any national credit card, which is acceptable to the club, can be used for the $3.00 fee and payments from the 
Temporary Member. 

DATE OF ORDER       PERMIT NUMBER  N        

TRADE NAME        

STREET ADDRESS        CITY        

MAILING ADDRESS       CITY        

COUNTY       ZIP CODE        
    

NUMBER OF TEMPORARY MEMBERSHIP CARDS ORDERED        
                     (IN MULTIPLES OF 50 CARDS ONLY) 

 
MULTIPLY BY STATE FEE X    3.00  

PAYMENT DUE WITH ORDER $    
  

NOTE:  Temporary membership cards must be ordered in multiples of fifty (50) cards.  Payment of the amount 
due must accompany this order and must be payable to the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission. 

  
Signed   

 Club Officer Signature & Title 

       EXHIBIT 6 
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TEMPORARY MEMBERSHIP CARD 

 
 EXAMPLE 
 
This example is a replica of a Temporary Membership Card.  An authentic card will contain the same information in the 
same format.  The background will be blue with an imprinted State of Texas Seal. 

 TEMPORARY 
MEMBER No. 2999999   

 NAME 
OF 
MEMBER 

   

 CLUB 
NAME 

 
CITY  

 

 
FROM 

 
TO 

  

 NOT TO EXCEED 3 DAYS  
    

 ISSUED BY & TITLE   
 

NOTE:  USE ONLY INK OR BALL POINT PEN 
 

 
 HEADINGS IN THE TEMPORARY MEMBERSHIP BOOK RECORD * 
 

EXAMPLE 
 

TEMPORARY 
MEMBERSHIP 

CARD NUMBER TEMPORARY MEMBER’S NAME 

DATE 
CARD 

ISSUED 
PRELIMINARY 

MEMBER 

DATE OF 
PRELIMINARY 
APPLICATION 

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     
This form is not provided by the T.A.B.C. EXHIBIT 7 



 

20 

POOL SYSTEM BOOK 
 Must Be Recorded In A Well-Bound Book 
 
 
 MEMBERSHIP 
 NUMBER 

 
 MEMBER'S 
 NAME 

 
 DATE OF 
 ASSESS 

 
 
 AMOUNT 

 
 DATE 
 PAID 

 
 DATE OF 
 ASSESS 

 
  
 AMOUNT 

 
 DATE 
 PAID 

 
 DATE OF 
 ASSESS 

 
AMOUNT 

 
 DATE 
 PAID 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

           
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

This is not a form provided by the T.A.B.C.           EXHIBIT 8 
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PRIVATE CLUB REPLACEMENT ACCOUNT DAILY SUMMARY 
For the Month of:   

 
  

 
 1 

 
 2 

 
 3 

 
 4 

 
 5 

 
 
 DAY 

 
 TOTAL DAILY TAXABLE 
 GROSS RECEIPTS 

 
 REPLACEMENT ACCOUNT 
 AMOUNT (Column 2 x    %) 

 
 (P)URCHASE 
 (T)RANSFER 

 
 ACCOUNT 
 BALANCE 

 
PRIOR MONTH'S 
 BALANCE 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 1 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 2 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 3 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 4 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 5 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 6 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 7 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 8 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 9 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 10 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 11 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 12 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 13 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 14 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 15 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 16 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 17 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 18 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 19 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 20 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 21 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 22 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 23 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 24 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 25 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 26 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 27 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 28 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 29 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 30 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 31 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 TOTAL 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

  This form is not provided by the T.A.B.C. EXHIBIT 9(1) 
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General Operating and Replacement Bank 
Account Check Register 

       

1              2 3 
       

4 

           
           
           

         5 6 7 8 
 

9 10 11        12                          13 

  Daily Taxable General  Account Actual  Check 
Type of 

Payment Check General Account  Replacement Actual  Check L,W,B Replacement  

Date 
Gross 

Receipts Percentage(    %) / Deposit Number or Vendor Amount Balance Percentage(   %) / Deposit Number/s Purchase/ Account Balance 

  Liq,Wine,Beer Deposit (Col. 2 x %)         (8 +3 -7)or(8 +4 -7) Deposit (Col. 2 x %)     Transfer 
(13 +9 -12)or(13 

+10 -12) 
Prior 
month's 
balance                         

01.                         
02.                         
03.                         
04.                         
05.                         
06.                         
07.                         
08.                         
09.                         
10.                         
11.                         
12.                         
13.                         
14.                         
15.                         
16.                         
17.                         
18.                         
19.                         
20.                         
21.                         
22.                         
23.                         
24.                         
25.                         
26.                         
27.                         
28.                         
29.                         
30.                         
31.                         

Totals                         

            
EXHIBIT 9(2) 
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General Operating and Replacement Bank  
Account Check Register 

1              2 3        4 

           
           
           

         5 6 7 8 
 

9 10 11        12                          13 

  Daily Taxable 
General  
Account Actual  Check 

Type of 
Payment Check 

General 
Account  Replacement Actual  Check L,W,B Replacement  

Date 
Gross 

Receipts 
Percentage(    

%) / Deposit Number or Vendor Amount Balance 
Percentage(   %) 

/ Deposit Number/s Purchase/ Account Balance 

  Liq,Wine,Beer 
Deposit (Col. 2 

x %)         
(8 +3 -7)or(8 

+4 -7) 
Deposit (Col. 2 x 

%)     Transfer 
(13 +9 -12)or(13 

+10 -12) 
Prior 
month's 
balance              $10,000.00          $10,000.00 

01. $500.00   $350.00 350.00  
 

       10,350.00 $150.00        10,000.00 
02. 500.00  350.00  350.00  

 
       10,700.00 150.00        10,000.00 

03. 500.00  350.00  350.00  1111 XYZ Mgr   $1550.00     9,500.00 150.00        10,000.00 
04. 500.00  350.00  350.00  

 
        9,850.00 150.00   $600.00 Deposit 1-4 

 
10,600.00 

05. 500.00  350.00  350.00  
 

       10,200.00  150.00    150.00     10,750.00 
06. 500.00  350.00  350.00  

 
       10,550.00 150.00  150.00     10,900.00 

07. 500.00  350.00  350.00  2222  XYZ Sublease    1550.00     9,350.00 150.00  150.00 1001   1,500.00 9,550.00 
08. 500.00  350.00  350.00  3333  XYZProm,Note    1550.00     8,150.00 150.00  150.00     9,700.00 
09. 500.00  350.00  350.00  

 
        8,500.00 150.00  150.00     9,850.00 

10. 500.00  350.00  350.00  
 

        8,850.00 150.00  150.00     10,000.00 
11. 500.00  350.00  350.00  

 
        9,200.00 150.00  150.00     10,150.00 

12. 500.00  350.00    4444  14%GR Tax    2170.00     7,030.00 150.00  150.00     10,300.00 
13. 500.00  350.00    

 
        7,030.00 150.00  150.00     10,450.00 

14. 500.00  350.00    
 

        7,030.00 150.00  150.00     10,600.00 
15. 500.00  350.00    

 
        7,030.00 150.00  150.00 1002      750.00  10,000.00 

16. 500.00  350.00  1,750.00 
 

 Deposit 12-16       8,780.00 150.00  150.00 1003   1,200.00 8,950.00 
17. 500.00  350.00  350.00  

 
        9,130.00 150.00  150.00     9,100.00 

18. 500.00  350.00  350.00  5555  ConcessAgree   1550.00     7,930.00 150.00  150.00     9,250.00 
19. 500.00  350.00  350.00  6666  Member Co.     600.00     7,680.00 150.00  150.00     9,400.00 
20. 500.00  350.00  350.00  7777  Big Liquor-Sup     100.00     7,930.00 150.00  150.00     9,550.00 
21. 500.00  350.00  350.00  8888  Accountant     800.00     7,480.00 150.00  150.00     9,700.00 
22. 500.00  350.00  350.00  9999  Joe Law Off.   1000.00     6,830.00 150.00  150.00     9,850.00 
23. 500.00  350.00  350.00    10000  Tex Carpentry     500.00     6,680.00 150.00  150.00     10,000.00 
24. 500.00  350.00  3350.00 

 
 Transfer/Repl.      10,030.00 150.00  150.00     7,150.00 

25. 500.00  350.00  350.00  
 

       10,380.00 150.00  150.00 Transfer/Gen   3,000.00 7,300.00 
26. 500.00  350.00  350.00  

 
       10,730.00 150.00  150.00     7,450.00 

27. 500.00  350.00  350.00  
 

       11,080.00 150.00  150.00     7,600.00 
28. 500.00  350.00  350.00  

 
       11,430.00 150.00  150.00     7,750.00 

29. 500.00  350.00  350.00  
 

       11,780.00 150.00  150.00     7,900.00 
30. 500.00  350.00  350.00  

 
       12,130.00 150.00  150.00     8,050.00 

31. 500.00  350.00  350.00  
 

       12,480.00 150.00  150.00     8,200.00 
Totals  $15,500.00  $10,850.00 $ 13,850.00     $11,370.00    $12,480.00 $4,650.00   $4,650.00    $6,450.00 8,200.00 

            
EXHIBIT 9(3)  
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ATTENTION - IMPORTANT NOTICE: 
 
OPTION ONE IS NOT A SET FEE OPTION!  It is not a violation to go to a higher bracket, but additional fees 
will be assessed if membership total exceeds the bracket paid for at issue or renewal dates.  Option 1 is not 
an option for most private clubs.  Any delinquency will be computed on a two year basis, or $6 per 
member.   
 
For example, if the club’s membership total goes to a higher bracket at any time during the two year period, 
additional fees will be $6 times the increase.  Each bracket increases by 200 members, so to increase one 
bracket will be an assessment of $1,200 (200 members x $6).  If a club’s permit was issued at 0-250 
members and if a club issued 1 year memberships and averaged increasing by 30 new members a week, they 
would have 1,560 plus charter members at the end of the first year, possibly 1,610 members.  They would 
owe $8,160 for the increase in the first year. 
 

CAUTION:  OPTION ONE IS NOT RECOMMEMDED FOR A RESTAURANT OR  HAS MEMBERS 
BEING ADDED ON A DAILY OR WEEKLY BASIS.   OPTION ONE IS PRIMARILY FOR CLOSED OR 
LIMITED MEMBERSHIP CLUBS.  
 
 
          EXHIBIT 11 

 


