. . . protect yourself

. . . protect your business

. . . promote responsible retailing




Responsible Service Reminders

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code requires
sellers and servers to refuse alcoholic
beverage service to intoxicated persons
and minors.

These public safety violations may result
in the cancellation or suspension of the
establishment’s license or permit to sell
alcoholic beverages.

You may also be held civilly liable for selling
or serving alcoholic beverages to an individual
if:

(1) at the time the provision occurred
it was apparent to the provider that
the individual being sold, served, or
provided with an alcoholic beverage was
obviously intoxicated to the extent that
he presented a clear danger to himself
and others; and

(2) the intoxication of the recipient was
the proximate cause of the damages

suffered.
Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code §2.02

Signs of Intoxication

Slurred speech

Mental confusion

Impaired balance

Impaired motor ability

Bloodshot eyes

Dishevelment

Smell of alcohol

Signs of past or present
incontinence or nausea

(www.tabc.state.tx.us/enforcement/signs_of _intoxication.asp)

Responsible Alcohol Service Saves Lives

A person commits an offense if the
person with criminal negligence sells
an alcoholic beverage to an intoxicated
person.

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code §101.63(a)
You could receive up to:

® S1000 fine; and/or
® One yearin jail.

A person commits an offense if the
person with criminal negligence sells an
alcoholic beverage to a minor.

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code §106.03(a)
You could receive up to:

® $4000 fine; and/or
® One yearin jail.

Manager’s Awareness Program

This program is taught by TABC staff and serves
as a roadmap to deter violations and promote
voluntary compliance with the Texas Alcoholic
Beverage Code through education and training.
It is designed to give managers the knowledge,
skills and abilities to help employees provide
responsible alcohol sales and service, and to deter
violations.

Seller/Server Training

This program is taught by third party providers
that are approved by TABC. It teaches sellers and
servers of alcohol how to avoid selling alcoholic
beverages to minors, intoxicated persons and to
nonmembers of a private club. Once employees
become TABC certified through a TABC approved
course provider, they will have the background,
skills, and awareness to serve alcoholic beverages
responsibly.

Steps to Responsible
Alcohol Beverage Service

Be committed to the responsible service
of alcoholic beverages.

e Do NOT serve an alcoholic beverage

to anyone who is intoxicated.

Do NOT serve alcoholic beverages to
anyone to the point of intoxication.

Do NOT allow any employee to drink
alcoholic beverages while working.

Do NOT serve an alcoholic beverage to
anyone under the age of 21 years.

Carefully check identification of
anyone who appears to be under 30
years of age.

Urge any intoxicated customer wishing
to leave an establishment to use
alternative transportation provided
by the establishment.

Always observe the customer and
evaluate the sale/service of alcoholic
beverages.

Inform law enforcement authorities
when intervention attempts with
minors or intoxicated persons fail.




