TO OPEN A SELLER TRAINING SCHOOL...

Requirements:

Owners/Officers or designees AND
trainers must complete online TABC
Trainer Course.

Trainers must have at least 2 years of
teaching/training experience or 15 hours
of secondary education in a related field.
Owners/Officers/Trainers may not have
a felony conviction on their record for

PROBLEM OR CONCERN...

If you have a complaint against a TABC-
approved school or training instructor,
contact TABC Seller Training.

Phone: 512-206-3420
Fax: 512-206-3316

seller.training@tabc.texas.gov

Seller/Server
Training

. . . protect yourself
. .. protect your business

. . . protect your community

the past 5 years.
. FREE EDUCATION PROGRAMS...
Complete/Submit:

e TABC School application (ST-401);

e $1000 School application fee;

e TABC Trainer application (ST-402) along
with the school application;

e S$100 Trainer application fee.

For information about free education programs
offered by TABC, please contact your local TABC
office or visit our website for more information.

www.tabc.texas.gov/education/#retailers

If you have a TABC license to sell alcoholic
beverages, see §106.14 (C) and (D) of the
Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code for specific
requirements related to opening a Seller
Training school for your company.

(These programs do not meet Seller/Server
training requirements for “Safe Harbor.”)

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission
P.O. Box 13127
Austin, Texas 78711
512-206-3333 (Information)
1-888-THE-TABC (Complaints)
TDD/TTY: 711

www.tabc.texas.gov

For more information, contact TABC Seller
Training at 512-206-3420.

Texas
Alcoholic
Beverage
Commission

www.facebook.com/txabc

= www.twitter.com/texasabc
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Dear Business Owner,

People who sell and serve alcohol have a tremendous
responsibility to help ensure public safety. TABC-approved
seller/server training programs are designed to educate
sellers and servers about the laws related to the responsible
sale and service of alcohol in Texas.

The programs (offered in a classroom or online) provide

a knowledge base of tips and best practices to use when
selling and/or serving alcohol. TABC expects retail
establishments to build on this Rnowledge base through
policies and procedures that prevent violation to the Texas
Alcoholic Beverage Code as it relates to the sale and/

or service of alcoholic beverages to minors, intoxicated
persons, or nonmembers of a private club.

Retailers that require employees to have TABC
certifications, may qualify for “Safe Harbor.”

However, “Safe Harbor” does not provide the seller and/or
server any type of sanction or reduction in penalty for the
sale or service of alcohol. The seller and)/or server is still
subject to penalties.

For additional information about “Safe Harbor,”

see TABC Administrative Rules [34.4 or visit the
TABC website at www.tabc.texas.gov/training_and_
certification/information_for_retailers.asp.

A GUIDE TO SELLER/SERVER TRAINING
(WHAT EMPLOYERS SHOULD KNOW)

All TABC Seller Training programs are
required to report student certificate
information to TABC within 14 days of the
student completing the course. This means
employers should be able to verify employee
certifications through the TABC Certificate
Inquiry website within 2 weeks of the
individual completing the class.

All TABC-approved courses teach using a
TABC-developed standardized curriculum.
Individuals who take the course in a
classroom setting will receive their certificate
upon completion of the course.

Individuals who take the course online will
receive their certificate via email within 24
hours of completing the class.

If an employee provided you with a
certificate from a school but you can’t verify
their information on the TABC Certificate
Inquiry website, there are a few things to
consider:

o The employee may have just completed
the class and the information has not
been added to the TABC Certificate
Inquiry website.

o There is possibly a typographical error for
the employee’s Social Security number
or date of birth in the TABC database and
the employee needs to contact TABC to
start the correction process.

o The employee may have provided a
certificate that is fraudulent or not valid.
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Seller Training Certificate Inquiry

(Click the following link to PRINT 2 copy of your certificate to sell or serve alcoha Certificate Inguiry
Select Certificate Inquiry.

If you need assistance validating a TABC Seller/
Server Certificate, you may contact TABC Seller
Training at 512-206-3420.

Search Criteria
Social Security Number: (999999393)
Date of Birth: (mm/ddlyll

Security Measures (This helps to prevent automated searches.)

Type the characters from the picture below (withou
spaces):

www.tabc.texas.gov




