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NOTICE 
BEXAR COUNTY FEE INCREASE/BOND REQUIREMENT 

EFFECTIVE September 1, 2011 
FEES 

Wine and Beer Retailer’s permits (BG’s) and Retail Dealer’s On-premise Licenses (BE’s) located in a 
county with a population of 1.4 million are required to pay a higher fee for an original or renewal application. 
(Acts of the 79th Legislature, Regular Session, 2005).  The 2010 Federal Census (United States Census 
Bureau) indicates that Bexar County is a county with a population of 1.4 million or more. 
 
Reference Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code: Sec 25.02(b) FEE 

(b) The annual state fee for a wine and beer retailer's permit in connection with an establishment 
located in a county with a population of 1.4 million or more is $750. The original application fee for a wine and 
beer retailer's permit in connection with an establishment located in a county with a population of 1.4 million or 
more is $1,000. 
 
Reference Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code: Sec 69.02(b) FEE 

(b) The annual state fee for a retail dealer's on-premise license in connection with an establishment 
located in a county with a population of 1.4 million or more is $750. The original application fee for a retail 
dealer's on-premise license in connection with an establishment located in a county with a population of 1.4 
million or more is $1,000. 

 
Please note that licenses and permits are issued for two years therefore the total fee will be $2,000 

(original) and $1,500 (renewal). 
 
PERFORMANCE BOND 

Wine and Beer Retailer’s permits (BG’s) and Retail Dealer’s On-premise Licenses (BE’s) located in a 
county with a population of 1.4 million are required to post a “Performance” bond with the Commission unless 
that establishment holds a food and beverage certificate and the primary business operated on the premise is 
food service. 
 

You may post the performance bond only on forms prescribed by the Commission: Surety Bond, 
Assignment of Security or Irrevocable Letter of Credit.  Refer to our website for a complete chart of fees and 
surcharges as well as performance bond forms at www.tabc.state.tx.us. 
 
Reference Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code: Sec 11.61 (b-1) CANCELLATION OR SUSPENSION OF 
PERMIT 

(b-1) Notwithstanding Section 204.01 and any other provision of this code, a person applying for a 
license or permit under Chapter 25 or 69 for the on-premises consumption of beer exclusively or beer and wine 
exclusively, other than a license or permit for an establishment holding a food and beverage certificate whose 
primary business being operated on the premises is food service, must file with the commission a surety bond, 
in an amount to be determined by the commission, conditioned on the licensee's or permittee's conformance 
with the alcoholic beverage law. The bond is forfeited to the commission on the suspension of the license or 
permit for the first time under this section or Section 61.71. Before the suspended license or permit may be 
reinstated, the licensee or permittee must furnish a second surety bond, similarly conditioned, in an amount 
greater than the initial surety bond, the amount to be determined by the commission. If the same license or 
permit is suspended under this section or Section 61.71 a second time, the bond is again forfeited to the 
commission. Before the suspended license or permit may be reinstated, the licensee or permittee shall furnish 
a third surety bond, similarly conditioned, in an amount greater than the second surety bond, the amount to be 
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determined by the commission. If the same license or permit is suspended under this section or Section 61.71 
a third time, the bond is again forfeited to the commission and the license or permit shall be canceled by the 
commission. This subsection applies only to a license or permit held in connection with an establishment 
located in a county with a population of 1.4 million or more.  

 
The initial amount of the performance bond is $2,000. The performance bond shall be forfeited to the 

commission if a violation of the TABC Code results in a suspension or civil penalty.  
Before the suspended license or permit may be reinstated, the licensee or permittee must furnish a second 
surety bond in the amount of $4,000.  If the same license or permit is suspended a second time, the bond is 
again forfeited to the commission.  Before the suspended license or permit may be reinstated, the licensee or 
permittee shall furnish a third surety bond in the amount of $6,000.  If the same license or permit is suspended 
a third time, the bond is again forfeited to the commission and the license or permit shall be canceled by the 
commission.   
 

If a conduct surety bond is in place at the time of the third forfeiture of the performance bond, the 
conduct surety bond shall also be forfeited. 
 
Wine and Beer Retailer’s permits (BG’s) and Retail Dealer’s On-premise Licenses (BE’s) 
CANCELLATIONS 

A person who is within the fourth degree by consanguinity or affinity of a licensee or permittee, as 
determined under Chapter 573, Government Code, whose license or permit was canceled under Section 11.61 
or 61.71 may not, for a period of three years from the date of the cancellation, apply for a license or permit in 
connection with an establishment at the same location as the establishment whose license or permit was 
canceled. [Section 11.13(c)] 
 
Reference Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code: Sec. 11.13 CERTAIN APPLICATIONS PROHIBITED. (a) This 
section applies only to a license or permit held in connection with an establishment located in a county with a 
population of 1.4 million or more for which a license or permit has been issued under Chapter 25 or 69 for the 
on-premises consumption of beer exclusively or beer and wine exclusively, other than a license or permit for 
an establishment holding a food and beverage certificate whose primary business being operated on the 
premises is food service.  

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of this code, a person who is within the fourth degree by 
consanguinity or affinity of the current licensee or permittee, as determined under Chapter 573, Government 
Code, may not apply for any license or permit under this code in connection with an establishment the license 
or permit of which is suspended under Section 11.61 or 61.71 or in connection with an establishment against 
whose current licensee or permittee a charge of a violation of this code is pending.  

(c) Notwithstanding any other provision of this code, a person who is within the fourth degree by 
consanguinity or affinity of a licensee or permittee, as determined under Chapter 573, Government Code, 
whose license or permit was canceled under Section 11.61 or 61.71 may not, for a period of three years from 
the date of the cancellation, apply for a license or permit in connection with an establishment at the same 
location as the establishment whose license or permit was canceled.  

(d) In this section, "person" includes each member of a partnership or association and, with respect 
to a corporation, each officer and the owner or owners of a majority of the corporate stock.  
 

If you have any questions contact the San Antonio District Office of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage 
Commission at 210-731-1720. 
 
Sincerely, 

 
Amy Harrison, Director of Licensing 

P.O. Box 13127      Austin, Texas 78711-3127      (512) 206-3333      www.tabc.state.tx.us 
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