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A lot of parents think it is a good idea to let their teenager (and the teenager’s friends) drink 
as long as they are in their home. This PSA informs parents of some of the consequences 
of providing alcohol to minors at their home. 

The minimum drinking age in Texas is 21.

Parents,  do you know what your liability is if someone else’s child drinks 
alcohol in your home or on your property?

It is often difficult or impossible to identify who 
provided alcohol to minors.  Social hosting liability 
focuses on where the drinking takes place, in 
addition to who provided the alcohol.  It assigns 
responsibility to those who provide alcohol to 
minors and also to those who knew or should 
have known that minors were drinking on their 
property.  
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Liable:  the state of being legally obliged and responsible.

Don’t let it happen!
Know the Law.

!

Drink and Drive?  It will cost you!

Some teenagers may not know that Texas has Zero Tolerance when it comes to 
minors (a person under the age of 21) driving under the influence of alcohol. This PSA 
targets teenagers and informs them of some of the consequences of driving with ANY 
detectable amount of alcohol in their system, this means even one drink.

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission offers several 30 second public service announcements free of charge to the general public.  These PSAs are available for 
viewing on the www.2young2drink.com web site.   Copies of these PSAs are available to schools, coalitions, or other organizations that wish to air them on their 
local TV or radio stations.  If you would like additional information or would like to request copies of one or all four PSAs, please contact the Education and Prevention 
Section at (512) 206-3290 or education@tabc.state.tx.us.

“If It Happens”

"You Drink. You Drive. You Pay." 



If you break the law, you face:

R Up to one year in jail; and/or

R Up to a $4,000 fine; and

R An automatic suspension of your driver’s 
license for 180 days upon conviction.

PLUS
R You could be held liable for damages caused by 
a person younger than 18 if you provided them 
alcohol or allowed them to be given alcohol while 
on your property.
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For more information:

In Texas, a person may provide alcohol to a minor if he or she is the minor’s adult parent, 
guardian, or spouse, and is visibly present when the minor possesses or consumes the 
alcoholic beverage.

It is against the law to make alcohol available to any other person younger than 21 
even in your own residence, even with their parent’s permission. You can be held civilly 
liable for damages caused by a person younger than 18 if you provided them alcohol or 
allowed them to be given alcohol while on your property.

Things you can do as a parent:

R Refuse to supply alcohol to youth.

R Be at home when your child has a party.

R Make sure alcohol is not brought into your home 
or onto your property by your child’s friends.

R Talk to other parents about not providing 
alcohol at events your child will be attending.

R Create alcohol-free activities in your home or 
community.

R Report underage drinking.  Call the anonymous, 
toll-free hotline at 1-888-THE-TABC.
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