Zero Tolerance
What does it mean for youth?

In Texas, it is illegal for a person under 21
to operate a motor vehicle or watercraft in
a public place while having ANY detectable
amount of alcohol in their system. They
could receive:

A fine up to $500;

Alcohol awareness classes;

20 to 60 hours mandatory community
service;

60 to 90 days driver’s license suspension.

These are just some of the dangers
of underage drinking:

Risky Sexual Behavior
Assaults

Sexual Assaults
Alcohol Poisoning
Binge Drinking
Injuries

Academic Problems
Legal Problems
Traffic Accidents
Traffic Fatalities
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Fines
Jail Time
Lawsuits

TABC takes a very serious view of adults
providing alcohol to underage drinkers. We
will be working to identify and prosecute
people that provide alcohol to minors.

www.2young2drink.com

Have questions or concerns?

Find your local TABC office at:

www.tabc.state.tx.us/contact_us/local_field_office.asp

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission
5806 Mesa Drive
P.O. Box 13127
Austin, Texas 78711
512-206-3333 (Information)
1-888-THE-TABC (Complaints)
TDD/TTY: 711
www.tabc.state.tx.us
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Save a Life

Texas Department of Transportation 01/11

Information for Parents about:

“Providing Alcohol”
Investigations

What are they?
What do they mean to you?

Texas
Alcoholic
Beverage
Commission



Are you willing to gamble?

The possession and consumption of alcohol by
minors frequently leads to dangerous behavior.

Selling, serving, or providing alcoholic beverages
to minors and/or to intoxication remains a
serious concern and these actions come with
consequences. You could face huge fines, jail
time, loss of your driver’s license, and civil
lawsuits.

TABC will utilize multiple resources to identify
and take action against people that make
alcoholic beverages available to minors and/or
serve to intoxication.

TABC is very concerned about underage drinking
and just as concerned about who is providing
the alcohol to youth.

It’s about protecting our young people
and our community!

What is a “Providing Alcohol” Investigation?

When Law Enforcement Providing alcohol to minors is a

agents discover minors Class A Misdemeanor
drinking alcohol or with '

alcohol in their possession,
| they will attempt to You face a maximum penalty of:

determine who provided
the alcohol to the minors and/or knowingly e one yearin jail;
allowed minors to possess and/or consume e a $4,000 fine; and
alcohol. In other words, they will attempt to e an automatic
discover how and from whom minors obtained suspension of your
alcohol. They will determine who owns or driver’s license for 180

leases the property where the minors were in

) . days upon conviction.
possession or were consuming alcohol.

You can be held civilly liable for damages
caused by the intoxication of a minor
younger than 18
if you knowingly
provided alcohol
or allowed the
minor to be served

Investigations also
attempt to identify
the source of the
alcoholic beverages
consumed by people
who were served to
intoxication. Law

Enforcement will attempt to determine if the alcohol on property

source of the alcohol was acting within the owned or leased by

law when the beverages were provided to the you, and they, in turn, hurt someone, hurt
parties in question. themselves, or damage property.

In Texas, a person must be 21 to possess
or consume alcohol. You may not provide
alcohol to anyone under 21 unless your
are the minor’s adult parent, guardian, or
spouse, and are visibly present when the
minor possesses or consumes the alcoholic
beverage.

www.tabc.state.tx.us



