S.B. No. 877

AN ACT
relating to the direct shipment of wine to consumers; providing a
criminal penalty.
BE 1T ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
SECTION 1. Chapter 16, Alcoholic Beverage Code, is amended
by adding Section 16.09 to read as follows:

Sec. 16.09. DIRECT SHIPMENT TO CONSUMERS. (&) The holder

of a winery permit may ship wine to the ultimate consumer,

including ultimate consumers located in dry areas. Delivery must

be by the holder of a carrier permit.

(b) All wine shipped to an ultimate consumer by the holder

of a winery permit must be iIn a package that is clearly and

conspicuously labeled showing that:

(1) the package contains wine; and

(2) the package may be delivered only to a person

described in Subsection (c).

(c) Wine shipped by the holder of a winery permit may not be

delivered to any person other than:

(1) the person who purchased the wine;

(2) a recipient designated in advance by such

purchaser; or

(3) a person at the delivery address who is age 21 or




over.

(d) Wine may be delivered only to a person who is age 21 or

over after the person accepting the package:

(1) presents valid proof of identity and age; and

(2) personally signs a receipt acknowledging delivery

of the package.

(e) The holder of a winery permit may not:

(1) sell or ship wine to a minor;

(2) deliver wine to a consumer using a carrier that

does not hold a carrier®s permit under this code; or

(3) deliver more than three gallons of wine within any

30-day period to the same consumer in this state.

SECTION 2. Subtitle A, Title 3, Alcoholic Beverage Code, 1is
amended by adding Chapter 54 to read as follows:

CHAPTER 54. OUT-OF-STATE WINERY DIRECT SHIPPER"S PERMIT

Sec. 54.01. AUTHORIZED ACTIVITIES. The holder of an out-of-

state winery direct shipper®s permit may sell and deliver wine

that is produced or bottled by the permittee to an ultimate

consumer located In the State of Texas. Delivery must be by the

holder of a carrier permit.

Sec. 54.02. PROHIBITED ACTIVITIES. The holder of an out-of-

state winery direct shipper®s permit may not:

(1) sell or ship wine to a minor;

(2) deliver wine to a consumer using a carrier that

does not hold a carrier"s permit under this code;

(3) deliver more than three gallons of wine within any




30-day period to the same consumer In this state; or

(4) sell to ultimate consumers more than 35,000 gallons

of wine annually.

Sec. 54.03. QUALIFICATIONS FOR PERMIT. An out-of-state

winery direct shipper®s permit may only be issued to a person who:

(1) does not hold a winery permit in the State of

Texas;

(2) operates a winery located in the United States and

holds all state and federal permits necessary to operate the

winery, including the federal winemaker®s and blender®"s basic

permit;

(3) holds a Texas sales tax permit;

(4) expressly submits to personal jurisdiction In Texas

state and federal courts and expressly submits to venue in Travis

County, Texas, as proper venue for any proceedings that may be

initiated by or against the commission; and

(5) does not directly or indirectly have any financial

interest in a Texas wholesaler or retailer as those terms are used

in Section 102.01.

Sec. 54.04. PERMIT FEE. The annual state fee for an out-of-

state winery direct shipper"s permit is $75.

Sec. 54.05. IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS. (a) All wine sold

or shipped by the holder of an out-of-state winery direct

shipper®s permit must be in a package that is clearly and

conspicuously labeled showing that:

(1) the package contains wine; and




(2) the package may only be delivered to a person

described in Subsection (b).

(b) Wine sold or shipped by a holder of an out-of-state

winery direct shipper®s permit may not be delivered to any person

other than:

(1) the person who purchased the wine;

(2) a recipient designated in advance by such

purchaser; or

(3) a person at the delivery address who i1s age 21 or

over.

(c) Wine may be delivered only to a person who is age 21 or

over after the person accepting the package:

(1) presents valid proof of i1dentity and age; and

(2) personally signs a receipt acknowledging delivery

of the package.

Sec. 54.06. REPORTS AND RECORDKEEPING. (@) The holder of

an out-of-state winery direct shipper"s permit shall maintain

records of all sales and deliveries made under the permit.

(b) The holder of an out-of-state winery direct shipper”s

permit shall maintain complete sales and delivery records for all

sales and deliveries made under the permit for at least five years

from the date of sale. These records shall be made available upon

request for inspection by the commission or any other appropriate

state agency.

(c) The commission shall establish rules requiring the

holder of an out-of-state winery direct shipper®s permit to




periodically file reports providing the commission with such

information as the commission may determine is needed to more

efficiently and effectively enforce the state laws applicable to

the permit holder.

Sec. 54.07. LIABILITY FOR AND PAYMENT OF TAXES. (&) Sales

made by the holder of an out-of-state winery direct shipper”s

permit shall be deemed to have been made in the State of Texas for

delivery in the State of Texas.

(b) The holder of an out-of-state winery direct shipper”s

permit shall be responsible for paying the following state taxes

related to sales and deliveries made under this chapter:

(1) excise taxes on the wine sold, payable at the same

rate and in the same manner as 1If the permittee were a Texas

winery located in Texas; and

(2) state sales and use taxes all payable at the same

rate and iIn the same manner as i1If the permittee were a Texas

winery located in Texas.

(c) An ultimate consumer who purchases wine from the holder

of an out-of-state winery direct shipper®"s permit under this

chapter shall be considered to be purchasing the wine from a Texas

permittee and shall not be charged the administrative fee for

personal imports set forth in Section 107.07.

Sec. 54.08. RESALE PROHIBITED. A consumer purchasing wine

from the holder of an out-of-state winery direct shipper”s permit

may not resell the wine, and any such wine that is resold is an

illicit beverage as defined in Section 1.04(4).




Sec. 54.09. DELIVERY AREAS. Wine shipped under this chapter

may be delivered to persons located in a dry area.

Sec. 54.10. WINE LABEL APPROVAL NOT REQUIRED. If the holder

of an out-of-state winery direct shipper®s permit has satisfied

all federal label approval requirements for a particular brand of

wine, then no further label approval shall be required by the

commission.

Sec. 54.11. RULES. The commission shall adopt rules and

forms necessary to implement this chapter.

Sec. 54.12. PENALTY FOR SHIPPING WITHOUT A PERMIT. Any

person who does not hold an out-of-state winery direct shipper”s

permit who sells and ships alcohol from outside of Texas to an

ultimate consumer iIn Texas commits on TfTirst offense a Class B

misdemeanor, on second offense a Class A misdemeanor, and on third

offense a state jail felony.

SECTION 3. Subsection (f), Section 107.07, Alcoholic
Beverage Code, is amended to read as follows:

() Except as provided by Chapter 54, any [ARy] person in

the business of selling alcoholic beverages in another state or
country who ships or causes to be shipped any alcoholic beverage
directly to any Texas resident under this section is in violation
of this code.

SECTION 4. Section 110.052, Alcoholic Beverage Code, 1is
amended to read as follows:

Sec. 110.052. PARTICIPATION OF PACKAGE STORES. (&)

Participation [Exeept-as providedby this section,—participation]




in the program by a package store is voluntary.

(b) [H~—alter—the progras-has—been—operatingFfor—atleast

[€e)] The commissioner by rule may establish standards that

a package store that participates in the program must meet.
SECTION 5. Subsection (@), Section 110.053, Alcoholic
Beverage Code, is amended to read as follows:
(a) A person who purchases wine from a winery in this state

may ship the wine In accordance with:

(1) Section 16.09 [10432;—Ftheperson—is—phystcally
present—at—the winery]; or

(2) this section[s—+fF—the—person—is—not—physically
present—at—the—winery].

SECTION 6. This Act applies only to sales and shipments
occurring on or after the effective date of this Act. Sales or
shipments occurring before the effective date of this Act are
governed by the law in effect immediately before that date, and
that law is continued in effect for that purpose.

SECTION 7. (@) Except as provided by Subsection (b) of this

section, this Act takes effect immediately if It receives a vote



of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as
provided by Section 39, Article 111, Texas Constitution. If this
Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this
Act takes effect September 1, 2005.

(b) If this Act takes immediate effect, the requirement for
a permit and the penalty imposed for shipping without a permit
under Chapter 54, Alcoholic Beverage Code, as added by this Act,
take effect on the date 90 days after the date of Immediate
effect, otherwise the requirement for a permit and the penalty
imposed for shipping without a permit under Chapter 54, Alcoholic

Beverage Code, as added by this Act, take effect January 1, 2006.
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