Alcohol & Your Child

Facts about Underage Drinking
Every Parent Should Know
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Message to Parents

This pamphlet has been developed to
provide you, the parent, with helpful
information that will assist you in
understanding your role in protecting
your child from problems associated with
underage drinking. We also want to inform
you about the laws put in place to protect
your child. The Texas Alcoholic Beverage
Commission believes that parents are key
players in helping to enforce underage
drinking laws as well as helping to avoid
the consequences of underage drinking.

Underage drinking is a serious problem
especially during Spring Break, Prom
and Graduation time. Unfortunately,
adults play a major role in the
consequences of underage
drinking when they sell or
serve alcohol to youth
under 21. Some parents
believe that it's safer
for their teens to drink at
home than to drink anywhere
else. Other adults, including
some parents, mistakenly think that
underage drinking is part of growing up.
But Texas, along with other states, assigns
responsibility for underage drinking not
only to the teens who consume alcohol
but also to adults who provide it to teens.
Adults who serve or supply alcohol to
persons under the age of 21 can be held
liable if any of those underage persons
are Killed or injured. Adults also can be
held responsible if teens who drink at
their homes kill or injure another person.
In addition to lawsuits, Texas parents
may find themselves subject to criminal
prosecution for underage drinking by their
teens and their teen’s friends.

Parents who host parties where young
people are drinking alcohol are condoning
an act associated with the three most
common causes of teenage deaths:

» accidental deaths;
* homicides; and
* suicides.

In fact, the National Traffic and Highway
Safety Administration (NHTSA) reports
that Texas leads the nation in the rate of
alcohol-related traffic deaths among 15- to
20-year olds.

The National Institute on Alcohol
Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
reports that underage alcohol
use plays a significant role
in risky sexual behavior
and increases the risk of
physical and sexual assault.
It is also associated with:

* poor grades;
* higher drop out rates; and
* problems with the law.

The health and safety of Texas’ future
cannot continue to be compromised by the
devastating, and often-fatal consequences
of underage drinking. Texas must reduce the
use of alcohol by youth under 21.

Research has shown that parents are the
most influential factor in protecting their
children from engaging in high-risk behavior,
including underage drinking. We hope this
information is helpful and we encourage
parents to talk to other parents and their
children before prom and graduation parties
to promote a clear, consistent no-use
message.

Statistics for Parents

The enforcement of underage drinking laws
continues to be a concern in Texas. Studies
show that alcohol is the most widely used
substance in our state. The Texas Alcoholic
Beverage Commission would like you to
consider the following statistics:

Primary School Students

Among students in grades 4-6 in 2008,
23% had ever drunk alcohol, and 15% had
drunk alcohol in the past school year. Eleven
percent of fourth graders had used alcohol
in the school year, compared with 21 percent
of sixth graders.

Secondary School Students

In 2008, 63% of Texas secondary
school students (grades 7-12)
had ever used alcohol, and
30% had drunk alcohol in
the last month. Of particular
concern is binge drinking, which
is defined as drinking five or more
drinks at one time. In 2008, 12% of
all secondary students said that when
they drank, they usually drank five or more
beers at one time, and 13% reported binge
drinking of liquor.

College Students

A 2005 Texas college survey found that 84%
had drunk alcohol in their lifetime, and 66%
had drunk alcohol in the past month. Almost
30% of college students reported binge
drinking. Although the legal drinking age is
21, 58% of college students age 18 to 20
reported drinking an alcoholic beverage in
the past month.

In 2008, 187 Texas youth under 21 died in
alcohol-impaired motor vehicle accidents.

When 10-18 year olds were asked the
question, “How do you and your friends get
the alcohol you drink”: a majority (65%) of
today’s youth who have consumed alcohol
in the past year report family and friends
as the leading source from which they get
alcohol.

Even though youth identified parents as
one of their primary sources of alcohol,
parents are the most influential person or
thing in a child’s decision not to drink at all
or not to drink on occasion. Seventy-
four percent of youth report parents
are the leading influence in their
decision to drink or not drink.

Regardless of how youth
obtain alcohol, they report
access to alcohol is easy. A
large majority of secondary
students (92% of 12th graders,
81% of 10th graders and 64% of 8th
graders) report that alcohol would be
“fairly easy” or “very easy” to get.

The health and safety of Texas’ future
cannot continue to be compromised by the
devastating and often-fatal consequences
of underage drinking. Texas must reduce the
use of alcohol by youth under 21.
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Binge Drinking/Alcohol Poisoning

Binge drinking is defined as having five or
more standard size alcoholic beverages
during a two-hour period for males and four
or more standard size alcoholic beverages
during a two-hour period for females. A
standard size drink is illustrated below.

12 fl 0z (355 mL) of
5floz (148 mL) beer or wine cooler
One mixed drink with of wine 1 3
*1.5floz (44 mL) - -
of 80-proof liquor | \
(such as vodka, |
in, scotch, bourbon,
randy, or rum)

@ Healthwise, Incorporsted

Among 12-20 year olds, approximately
17% reported having engaged in
binge drinking.

Among high school students
in the U.S., those who
binge drink frequently are
at higher risk for the following
outcomes than are students
who abstain from drinking:

* Risky Sexual Behavior
» Assaults

» Sexual Assaults

* Injuries

» Academic Problems

* Legal Problems

There are growing concerns about extreme
binge drinking among college age youth.
The 2007 Monitoring the Future Study
conducted by the National Institute on Drug
Abuse (NIDA) revealed one in eight college
students (13%) reported having 10 or more
drinks in a row at least once in the prior two
weeks and 5% reported 15 or more drinks
in arow. Their non-college peers had about
the same rates (14% and 7%, respectively).
The most serious consequence of binge
drinking is alcohol poisoning.

Alcohol poisoning occurs when someone has
consumed more alcohol than their body can
safely metabolize. It takes the body 1 to 1.5
hours to process a single drink.

Alcohol poisoning is a medical emergency!
You and your child should know the signs
of alcohol poisoning and what to do should
a friend exhibit some of the symptoms. You
should not wait until all symptoms are present
before calling 911 for help.

The signs of alcohol poisoning are:

» Unconscious or semi-
conscious (passed out)

* No response to pinching

 Slow or irregular breathing:

less than 8 breaths per

minute, 8-10 seconds

between breaths

* Low body temperature

» Slow heart rate

* Bluish or pale, cold
clammy skin

» Vomiting while “sleeping”
or passed out

DON’T:
* panic
* leave them alone to “sleep it off”
« give them food or coffee
* try to make them vomit
* put them in a cold shower

DO:
+ call 911
* keep him/her on their side
 perform CPR until medical help arrives
if their pulse is less than 40 beats per
minute or their breathing is less than 8
breaths per minute

A Strategy for Parents

Start by giving your child a clear no-use
message and make sure they know and
understand that you do not approve of a youth
their age consuming alcohol. Research shows
that when parents communicate clearly to their
children about their expectations to abstain
from drinking until 21, teens and preteens are
less likely to drink. A majority of secondary
students perceived that their parents strongly
disapprove of youths their age drinking beer
(64%). However, as students got older, the
perceived disapproval of beer use declined
(73% of 7th graders compared to 51% of
seniors). Students who perceived their
parents of approving of someone their age
drinking were over 2.5 times more likely
to drink than students who perceived
their parents of disapproving.

As parents, it is important to
talk to your child about the
dangers of alcohol. Less
than 50 percent of secondary
students thought alcohol was
very dangerous to use. However,
more than 21 percent reported

experiencing at least one of the following
negative consequences related to alcohol:

* Difficulties with friends
* Criticism from a date

* Trouble with teachers
* Trouble with police

» Driving after drinking

Let your child know it is against the law to
consume alcohol. Be a good listener, ask
open-ended questions and most of all focus
your attention on the conversation and listen
to what your child is saying. To avoid pitfalls,
have all relevant facts. For some additional
information, visit www.2young2drink.com.

This Spring Break, Prom and Graduation
Season, monitor your child’s activities:

» Know where they are going before and
after events.

* Know who they will be with and where.

+ Talk to other parents about alcohol to
ensure that alcohol will not be available
to youths under 21.

+ Call ahead to make sure there will be
responsible adult supervision.

» Make sure your child knows how to
contact you in case of an emergency.

* Report underage drinking to your local
law enforcement agency or by calling
1-888-THE-TABC.

As a parent, it is important that
you stay informed. Learn what
is happening in your area
and about prevention
programs being offered
at your child’s school and
in your community. Work with
other parents, school officials,
community group leaders, local
law enforcement and state and local
agencies to prevent underage drinking in
your community.

Be a parent, not a friend!
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Enforcement

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission
(TABC) regularly works to enforce alcohol
laws relating to licensed establishments.
These enforcement efforts include:

» Minor Stings

» Public Safety Operations
» Cops in Shops

» Shoulder Tap Stings

» Operation Fake-Out

The TABC also works closely with retailers
and the community to encourage voluntary
compliance with underage drinking laws
through education. These programs include:

* Manager’s Awareness Program
(MAP)

* Project SAVE for Retailers

» Enforcement

Operations-Educating
the Retailers

» Parent Workshops

* Project SAVE for
Schools

Parents can play an active role in
providing a safe environment for their
children by contacting the TABC to report
bars, restaurants or stores that violate the
law.

Unfortunately, the TABC and/or other
local law enforcement do not generally
receive advance notices for private teenage
drinking parties. Local law enforcement
agencies and the TABC only hear of these
parties after an incident, accident, or injury
occurs. If parents contact the TABC or the
police immediately when they learn about
upcoming drinking parties, we might be able
to prevent the party from occurring without
the need for arrest or tragedy.

Some parents allow underage drinking parties
at their home because without the facts, they
feel their children will be safe. Unfortunately,
statistics have shown that there is no fail-
safe plan and the parents sponsoring the
drinking parties are subjecting themselves to
criminal and civil liability and the community
to potential tragedy.

Laws for Parents

Underage drinking laws are designed to protect
minors and the community from the tragedies
and sometimes deadly consequences of
underage drinking.

Civil Liability

Texas holds parents/adults civilly liable for
damages caused by the intoxication of a
minor younger than 18 if they knowingly
provided alcohol or allowed alcohol to be
served on property owned or leased by them
and:

* The minor is injured or dies as a result
of drinking on the property.

* The underage person gets into a
fight, falls and hurts him/herself
or is sexually assaulted.

« The minor attending
the party damages
someone else’s
property.

* The underage person who
is drinking on the property,
leaves and is involved in a motor
vehicle accident and causes injury
to themselves or others.

Parents accept responsibility for the safety of
minors under 18 when the minor is on their
property or on property leased by them and
under their care, custody, and control.

Providing/Furnishing Alcohol to Minors

In Texas, a person may provide alcohol to a
minor if he/she is the minor’s adult parent,
guardian, or spouse, and is visibly present
when the minor possesses or consumes the
alcoholic beverage.

It is against the law to make alcohol
available to a person younger than 21
even in your own residence, even with the
parent’s permission. This law also applies
to providers under the age of 21.

If you break the law, you can face:

« Afine up to $4,000; and/or
* Up to one year in jail; and
» 180 days automaticdriver’s
license suspension upon
conviction.
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Laws for Minors

If a minor (anyone under 21):

» Possesses or consumes an alcoholic
beverage;

» Purchases or attempts to purchase an
alcoholic beverage;

» Misrepresents his/her age to obtain an
alcoholic beverage; and/or

 Drives a motor vehicle, or watercraft
while having any detectable amount
of alcohol in his/her system.

He/she can receive:

« Afine up to $500;

* Required attendance at an alcohol
awareness class;

* 8-40 hours community service;
and/or

*+ 30-180 days loss or
denial of his/her
driver’s license.

For a third offense, the minor may receive:

« Afine of $250-$2,000; and/or

* Up to 180 days in jail;

» 20-40 hours community service;

+ 180 days loss or denial of his/her driver’s
license.

Zero Tolerance Laws

While it is illegal for adults over 21 to drive
while intoxicated, it is illegal for a minor to
drive while having ANY detectable amount of
alcohol in the minor’s system. This includes
motor vehicles and watercraft.

1. The consequences for the minor on
the first offense of driving under the
influence of alcohol:

* Class C Misdemeanor, punishable by
a fine up to $500;

« Attendance at an alcohol awareness
class;

20 to 40 hours of mandatory
community service;

* 60 days driver’s license
suspension. The minor
would not be eligible
for an occupational
license for the first
30 days.

2. Asecond offense increases
the consequences to:

 Class C Misdemeanor, punishable
by a fine up to $500;

» Attendance at an alcohol awareness
class at the judge’s discretion;

* 40to 60 hours of mandatory community
service;

» 120 days driver’s license suspension.
The minor would not be eligible for an
occupational license for the first 90
days.

3. A third offense is not eligible for
deferred adjudication. The minor’s
driver’s license is suspended for
180 days and an occupational
license may not be obtained for
the entire suspension period. If the
minor is 17 years of age or older,
the fine increases to $500 to $2,000,
confinementin jail for up to 180 days,
or both.
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Conclusion

The purpose of this pamphlet is to provide parents with some additional insight and
help parents understand the Facts about Underage Drinking. For additional information,
numerous books, informational sources and Web Sites can be accessed for more in-
depth knowledge. The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission is committed to the safety
of the citizens of Texas, and we want this Spring Break, Prom and Graduation Season
to be as safe as possible.

Notes

Visit us on line at www.2young2drink.com.

Minors and Alcohol 2 Young 2 Drink Did You Know?

S i derth Texas Youth
enalties for minors driving under the : - —
influence include: Whatis E.U.D.L.? ¥ e h_'
= Afine up to 5500
. CQnﬂnepmelilmawlfnr up to 180 days The Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) Program suppoerts and enhances efforts by states and local jurisdictions to prevent the sale of alcoholic
= Community Semvice (20-40 hours) beverages to minors and the purchase and consumption of alcoholic beverages by minors. The Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
* Suspension or denial of driver's

license for 60 days (OJJDP) helps states address the problem of underage drinking through block grants, discretionary programs, and training and technical assistance. The
+ Participation in an Alcohol Awareness| EUDL program helps develop comprehensive and coordinated initiatives to enforce state laws that prohibit the sale of alcoholic beverages to minors and to d
course prevent the purchase or consumption of alcoholic beverages by minors (defined as individuals under 21 years of age). Alcohal is the most widely
used substance among
EUDL Grant Application Texas 7-12 grade youth.

The EUDL grant application process has been closed. Please check back for future updates.

Texas' Role:

Since 2002, TABC has been the designated state administrator for EUDL grant funds for the State of Texas and monitars each project. The U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Juvenile Justice and
Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP). Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws (EUDL) block grant. provides funding. Each project addresses underage drinking through a comprehensive program involving various
members of the local community. The funding is used to increase enforcement efforts and provide educational programs to increase the awareness of underage drinking laws and the consequences of
underage drinking. In the past. TABC has used EUDL grant money to:

& Support innovative programs te prevent and combat underage drinking throughout communities in Texas.
¢ Increase enforcement efforts to prevent and combat underage drinking.
v Host specialized trainings geared toward law enforcement, colleges and universities, middle schools and high schools, and parents to combat and prevent underage drinking.

E-mail Us
Minor Sting Operations

Minor sting operations are undercover stings operations which identify retail establishments that sell to minors. The use of minor sting operations in Texas has been a very valuable tool in addressing
underage drinking. Working together with velunteers, we have been able to make a concerted effort to curb the availability of alcehal to minors. E
Public Service Announcements

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission offers several 30 second public service announcements for the general public. These PSA's include:

« "If It Happens" — A lot of parents think it is a good idea to let their teenager and friends drink only in their home. This PSA targets parents and informs them of some of the consequences of providing alcohol to minors at their home.

= "You Drink. You Drive. You Pay” — Some teenagers may not know that Texas has a Zero Tolerance when it comes to miners (a persen under the age of 21) driving under the influence of alcohol. This PSA targets teenagers and
informs them of some of the consequences of driving with ANY detectable amount of alcohol in their system, this means even one drink.

« "It's Your Duty” — Texas has the second most active duty military personnel in the United States. For many retailers this provides a moral dilemma. They have underage serice men and women that come into their establishments
trying to purchase alcohol, they are old enough to go te war, but cant buy alcohel. What is a retailer to do? This PSA targets those retailers and informs them on the consequences of selling alcohel te minors, even military minors.

Public Service Announcements

Funding for this page was provided by the Office of Juvenike Justice and Delinquency Prevention (@JDP), Enfercing Underage Drinking Laws Bleck Grant.

BC

g m gy m nconnkET,

Other Helpful Web Sites:

www.tabc.state.tx.us
www.dot.state.tx.us
www.healthallianceonalcohol.com
www.udetc.org
www.alcoholfreechildren.org
www.nhtsa.dot.gov
www.samhsa.gov
www.ojjdp.ncjrs.org
www.centurycouncil.org
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